Playing With The Camera: Tangled-Dead

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
WARNING: @abigail-dantes, this is a spider post. You may proceed at your responsibility (don't say I didn't warn you!)

Who is in for another collection of boring insect photos with silly descriptions to go with? Today's  guest? A hungry spider I found the balcony. Our photos are taken on 3 different days and @ruth-girl, the vicious insect paparazzi, has captured for you some shots of a disgusting, slender spider feasting on some poor flying insects that were unlucky enough to get tangled on its web... 

In the spider world tangled means... you're dead!



A spider has to eat, to grow and have some kids...

And when it comes to hunting time, of mercy you'll see no seeds

The spider weaves and then just lurks

For insects to drop by

And on the menu for today

A poor and little dragonfly

"Oh! Good! With you I will have food to last for several days!"

"Come you now, little one"

The hungry spider says

"Don't be afraid, you'll feel no pain"

"The hardest part is gone"

"And once I dip my teeth in you"

"Your flesh shall be my own"

"I'll hold you tight"

"The wind will blow"

"And try to take you away"

"But look, my web is just so strong"

"You have no choice but stay"

"Don't take me for a savage, please"

"I'll take good care of you"

"I'll talk and sing"

"And if you like,"

"I'll even dance with you"

"We'll float on my elaborate web"

"Right when the wind will come"

"And once your body has no more"

"For me to munch and swallow"

"I'll have to find another one"

"A new carcass to hollow"

"But insects plenty are around"

"You're not the one and only"

"So many pop up on my web"

"Enough to not feel lonely"



Life is hard, life is unfair. We are all disposable creatures in this world. Whether we like it or not, what happens in the video below, applies for some people too. Preying, hitting and leaving to find their next victim, is a tactic. 

Hurt and run!

Use them and go!

Look back? 

Oh! but of course: NO!



*Original story and images (non-edited) and video with Nikon D3400 by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018 

Insanity, darkness and flirting with death as a part of life... I am starting to think my parents adopted me from the Adams family 😜

I hope you had fun with this one! I'd love to see what you think in the comments below! 😊

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people! 

Sort:  

My favorite memory about a spider...
I was cleaning a windowsill, watering the plants, removing dead pieces and piecelets when, as I moved a flower pot, a huge spider popped out from behind it.
It startled me, but... I saw that I also startled the spider.
It started running off like crazy, in a very non-elegant way, kind of stumbling over its own legs, it was hilarious.... we were both hilarious.
I could never look at spiders the same way after that. Always saw them as kind of funny creatures.

(To a dragonfly they are not... I know ...)

Ahahahahahahaha! Hilarious! Ok, this reminded me of a typical scene where an elephant gets scared of a mouse - I believe the same proportions apply here too :P

So, if you think spiders are funny, was Arachnobia a comedy film for you? ;)

Well... back when I saw that movie, I was probably silly enough to think that I could get some information out of it, but you can get as much information about spiders from "Arachnophobia", as you can get about sharks from "Jaws". Basically, these movies serve to scare people, to create the thrill of fear.
I ended up switching to documentaries and personal experience (mine or that of others) for information.
If I were to watch Arachnophobia now... yeah, it would probably be a comedy! :)

I can picture the hilarity of the situation, I mean your awkward run from the spider. So, what happened to the spider after that?

I didn't run, but it startled me. That small thing has startled me... Consider the size difference, that's pretty funny if you think about it!
And the spider ran... which is more logical than my reaction, but it did so in a clumsy, panicky way.

Afterwards, I probably caught it and let it out (on the terrace). I don't really remember, but that is what usually happens with big spiders which are inside the house.

Oh, sorry, I didn't get that part very well. It was the spider that ran and not you. Yeah, they are better off outside the house. No one got time to be cleaning the webs they leave after a visit :)

Does @abigail-dantes have a phobia for spider? I find spiders to be annoying owing to the webs they usually leave behind for me to clean up. The only spider I like, apart from the one from the movie us this real life spiderman.

Macro photography is usually hard if you don't own a macro lens. But you successfully pulled off one here. Good job.

She dreads them!! I also consider them annoying, but they look so cute in macro! All insects (almost all, ok) look cute!
Real life Spiderman? Wow!

It is hard without a lens, that's true but I am trying. I now want to buy some close-up filters. They are a cheaper alternative to a macro lens :)

Filter Lens are pretty cheap in China. They can ship to your country too.

I know, but I don't know about the shipping cost to Europe. Here I can find one for about 25$ (the cheapest ones)

Shipping is usually pretty cheap from that site. I've bought quite some few gadgets from there. Their shipping is usually the cheapest. Some items even come with free shipping.

Ok, you got me curious. I should check out the shipping costs before buying anything from here :)

Yeah, please do check.

xeirourgos h araxnh !!

Google translate gives me: "surgeon or spider".

The modern internet is a true wonder.


Η μετάφραση Google μου δίνει: "χειρουργός ή αράχνη".

Το σύγχρονο διαδίκτυο είναι ένα πραγματικό θαύμα.

Basically it means "surgeon the spider"
η translates as"the" for feminine nouns
ή translates as "or" 😁

Google translate gives me: "surgeon or spider".

The modern internet is a true wonder.


Η μετάφραση Google μου δίνει: "χειρουργός ή αράχνη".

Το σύγχρονο διαδίκτυο είναι ένα πραγματικό θαύμα.

Ναι, η γλυκουλα!

Thanks for the warning! 😂😂😂
I didn’t read a word!!!
But still wanted to send you kiss 😘

😘😘😘

Ruth εισαι οτι πρεπει για την ταινια arachnophobia....μου αρεσε πρωτα απ'ολα για τον Ελληνικοτατο τιτλο της...υστερα μπορει να ηταν και η ηλικια...πρεπει να ημουν 14-15 οταν την ειδα...αν εχεις θεμα με τις αραχνες οπως η φιλη σου η abigail δε προκειται να κοιμηθεις το βραδυ...

Πρεπει να την εχω δει μικρη! Θυμαμαι χαρακτηριστικα μια σκηνη που μια αραχνη μπαινει στην παντοφλα ενος παππου κι οταν αυτος παει να τη φορεσει, η αραχνη τον τσιμπαει.

This is weird because last night a fat winter fly was bugging me while I was typing out my post. Then it got snagged in a spider web in the corner above my computer (a web I did not notice until this event).

A spider immediately ran to the centre of the web and started working away on the fly.

What to do, what to do? Save the fly and let it live another day and deprive a spider of a meal. Leave well enough alone and consign the fly to its death.

I decided to let nature run its course. I guess its not my business to interfere.

Now I have to figure out, do I clean up the web and keep my room clean and tidy or do I leave the spider's handiwork alone.

I had the exact dilemma with this one. It was easier to let it be, since the web was outside; but the truth is that when they are in the house I tear their delicate homes down.

My thoughts??? At first, I was asking if you stood by them and you were taking several photos to capture all the moments and steps until I saw the video. So, I assume you did screenshots of the video..

.....and again @abigail-dantes is afraid of spiders😅😅

.....and again @abigail-dantes is afraid of spiders😅😅

😖

No, no screenshots! I was right next to that long-legged cutie and took about 100 frames :P

Wow!! That's really nice though I might not be able to do it..

I used to have Arachnophobia. I realized that it was not their size or a real danger, but a surprising effect . Living in France in the middle of the forest and exposed to the nature in tha authentical way put many things on the right place, spiders too. They are not funny to me as they are to Sabina, but I also do not kill them but let them free if they come in my theritory. "Flirting with death", hm...interesting thought. :)

Yes, it's not their size. It's just that they are intruders in your space and I can be very protective of my space. I try to leave them out when I can, but sometimes I can't

And I just remembered this piece that fits perfectly with the spider's fatal dance :)

Beautiful music, I like it very much. Thank you. :)
This repeating theme has something of it, but for me, it corresponds more to the exciting love encountre than to the fatal death dance. There is so much tenderness in this music .

It has something sweet but frightening (for me). Still, it is among my favorite pieces. I'm happy that you liked it! :D

This looks like the kind of spider that bit Peter Parker and turned him into spiderman :D... I'm kidding

Nice photography Ruthie [Insect paparazzi]

No, no! I think that spider was smaller (I have a bunch of other cute spider photos to share in the future! A tree in our garden had more than 4 different species on it)

Hehe! Thanks Sammy! :D

I have a bunch of other cute spider photos to share in the future!

I'd be waiting for them 😃

A tree in our garden had more than 4 different species on it

Maybe we can give them scientific names. I'll name 1, then you can name the remaining 3.
How about: Samminatus arachnidae? 😎

Samminatus arachnidae LOL!!!!

Ok! Oh, and how does Ruthius Arachnis sound? 🤣

Hahahah. OmG! You're on point, Ruthie 😂.
Spiders would be so proud right now 😅

I love the way you add humor to your works.Thats unique.

Humor is the best medicine to cure reality!

Thanks for dropping by! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84