You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eerie Stalactite Formations and Giger Inspiration — Caving in New Zealand, Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

Good morning @crimsonclad! Very well written, as I could "feel" what you were experiencing in going through this cave.

"... but I can't be sure that nothing there in the gloom isn't moving ..."

Seems somewhere I've read there are certain caves down there that have remarkably large insects in them. Am I remembering that right? 😊

"I'm mostly in a delighted state of awe"

Great writing to help us with the "feel" of being there. I have been in caves myself a number of times, so you brought those old memories back "to life." Not just guided either, but going into them alone (well, with a partner) ...

Your story particularly brings back a memory of finding the entrance to a cave in the Mogollon Rim region of Arizona. Years ago, with a dear friend "out for the day" exploring ...

We uncovered the entrance, at the bottom of a sinkhole, and decided to go in. Which required some gymnastics, with gravity working in our favor. Leading to the obvious dilemna soon thereafter, "yeah but ..." how are we going to get back out? When it wasn't in our favor ...

A little forethought goes a long way, but I was "young and foolish" back then (vs. old and foolish now ... 😊). Long story and an unforgettable experience, but we did make it ... 👍

Upvoted 100%.

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted using Partiko Android

P.S. Would you mind sharing the source of your animated GIF, i.e. who made it for you? Thank you!

Sort:  

The fabulous @overkillcoin put that together for us~ you can find the post here:
https://steemit.com/art/@overkillcoin/animated-banners-for-followbtcnews

Seems somewhere I've read there are certain caves down there that have remarkably large insects in them.

You can see a picture of the weta in the second photo! They're kind of like inside grasshopper prawns, I suppose.

Very good. Thank you for the follow-up @crimsonclad! As time permits, I will definitely be checking into @overkillcoin's services.

Again, no problem on the "time lag," as I know you are very busy.

We "out here" in "minnow land" appreciate all that you and the PALnet team are doing!! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87