55MM x 75MPH (Travel Photography Series) - Day 1

1,200 miles in two days...

Day One - Saying So Long

My Dad once told me, "You can't always leave but you can always come home."

At the time, I was having cold feet about leaving the familiarity of family and home to go to college and play basketball. When I told my father that I was having second thoughts about accepting a scholarship to an out of state school, those were his words to me.

"You can't always leave but you can always come home." (He's totally eating those word, now)

So I left. A few years later, I came home. A few years after that I left again.

I left and came home and left and came home and left and came home and now we're leaving again.

What I've found in this nomadic life I have chosen for myself is that home is who you are with.

Downtown Columbus Ohio at dawn 1.jpg

We left Ohio at dawn on a ridiculously small amount of sleep (springing forward and all - Thanks, Daylight Savings Time) but we were excited for the adventure. My wife and I rode in one car. My mom and our 7 year old twins rode in a separate car.

Downtown Columbus Ohio at dawn 2.jpg

eIMG_3232.jpg

eIMG_3236.jpg

eIMG_3238.jpg

eIMG_3239.jpg

eIMG_3240.jpg

We made it through the Buckeye State without a hitch and saw some pretty cool sights along the way.

So Long, Ohio. It's been a pleasure!!!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:22:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57