Tree Brain Sighting!

in #photography7 years ago

Really special treat - I spotted a tree brain on my hike yesterday. Here's before and after engaging my fMRI converter lens:

TreeBrain.gif

This doesn't happen very often. Weather conditions have to be just right. There has to be a bit of snow on the ground, the humidity just so. And they're pretty easy to miss, often escaping notice of the most fervent treewatchers.

It's very important not to disturb a tree brain if you find one in bloom. Most importantly this can damage the brain, possibly stunting its growth and almost certainly causing it to retract. This of course prevents others from witnessing the marvel. And all sorts of weird stuff can happen when humans come into contact with botanical intelligence.

Pro Tip: Keep an fMRI converter lens handy. A polarizing filter really makes the sulci pop.

Have you ever spotted a tree brain?


Recent Posts

Sort:  

That is totally cool. Thanks

Thank you @carey-page! I had fun with it =]

Cool! I've never had the chance to see one of these in the wild, only in zoos. That really is a treat.

What kind of tree brain is this, btw? I'd guess some kind of deciduous variety, but I'm not too great at keeping nature straight.

I'm not either - I think maple?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74