Cambodian Delicatessen

in #photography6 years ago

02.jpg
Fried Tarantulas

Hi, Dear Steemians Friends

Yesterday evening as I was walking in the streets of Siem Reap, I came across a market where they were selling some jungle food. For those who follow me for long, they already know that I love the jungle food. They were selling fried Scorpions, fried tarantulas, fried snakes, and also some fried grasshoppers (takaten) and crickets (kingrit). I often eat both takaten and kingrit in Thailand, I really love the taste and it is a kind of snack. Fried black Scorpions I also eat it already and it is not good to my taste as it tastes a lot like a medicine, but Thais and Cambodians are eating it as a medicine. But, Tarantulas, in Chiang Mai they do "nam prick bung" a kind of chili paste with smashed Tarantulas in it because in North Thailand they put so much chili inside that you can't feel the taste and it feels like eating fire. Here, the Tarantulas were fried on a stick so I get myself one fried Tarantula and a fried Snake. I really like snake meat, I eat it in many places all over Asia. I have to say the really best meat I ever eat was the Python steak, this is really a pleasure for me to eat it. Unfortunately, I cannot eat it anymore because of the regulation that comes into place around the year 2000 about protected species. I also use to eat Cobra but the meat is not as good as the python and also harder to chew. After buying my fried Tarantula and snake, I get back to my hotel to taste it. The snake was over fried and not as good as a Python steak, for the Tarantula I get some hesitation to put the Tarantula in my mouth but after 5 seconds I put half of it in my mouth and try to get the taste but it was the taste of the fried oil plus another thing close to Takaten taste. So, I decided to go for a leg and it was tasting different than Takaten but not bad at all, but after when it comes to the abdomen (the back part) inside the crispy was a liquid orangish kind of substance that I cannot eat, but I finish the 8 legs. Next time I will ask them to make it very very crispy for me and I will eat it all.

Fried Snakes
01.png

Fried Scorpions
03.jpg

@ricko66

Sort:  

OMG, These scare me. I will never ever try it, haahaa

What about Takaten and Kingrit?

Wow this photography is a very good and this content is very beautiful and thats a great post provide in this platform..
Best of luck..

Thank you! Hope you the best on Steemit :)

The fried snake! What kind of snake is it?! Don’t they have to skin it first?!
As a kid, I ate cobra fried in chili’s and Thai herbs without knowing it. I felt very warm afterwards. Thai villagers in upcountry eat poisonous snake meat for keeping warm in cold winter. Things with eight legs are too much for me!!
You are very adventurous!!

Yes they take the skin out first, from the explanation it is a no venomous snake living near the water. I ate cobra too, once I even drink the blood with the glands (not the venom glands) with some Thai whiskey in it and yes that was warm after, but the meat was cooked like a little steak (no chili) was much harder to chew than Python and stronger taste also, little like crocodile meat. Adventure is all my life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93