You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Castles: A few specimens from Andalusia

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Wow, thank you for sharing. I've travelled to Spain a few times, and I just love Spanish castles. I have visited some myself, but I have never seen these castles before. I love Spain.

Sort:  

Thanks! What areas did you visit?

Spain is awesome. I would have stayed if there had been a way. Three years wasn't nearly long enough!

My family went to Spain a lot when I was younger, and my dad would take us around castles. I cannot remember everywhere we went, but we went to a lot of castles in the Valencia area.... More recently, I've been to Seville, and visited the cathedral. Its not a castle, but its an amazing building! I loved Seville.

Ah, Sevilla. It's a beautiful city, but very touristy! That cathedral is amazing, especially the pipe organ and, of course, La Giralda. Did you climb it?

Yes, it is very touristy, but the Spanish people there are very friendly and laid back. We climbed La Giralda, and we also paid extra money to have a guided tour on the cathedral roof, which was amazing because we got to see lots of things many tourists don't see.

That sounds amazing!

I lived in Jerez de la frontera, Los Barrios (just north of Algeciras), and Ronda. On many occasions, I would go hiking with my Spanish friends to see things out in the countryside. Prehistoric cave drawings, the site of a Roman fortification, abandoned towers from the Moorish occupation... It's amazing how much history dots the landscape.

It must have been great living there..... I'm familiar with Ronda, and the big gorge, and have visited a couple of times. Unfortunately I was quite young, and my memory has faded. I definitely need to go back and refresh it. :)

Ronda is simply amazing :)

I wrote an article about Ronda and another about the Sierra de Ronda with some photos of the area and some of what it has to offer. You might enjoy them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30