Monochrome Landscapes - My recent Instagram images

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post in re-dedicating my steemit blog to primarily photography. To reintroduce myself to the Steem photography community, I thought I would post my latest focus on Instagram - monochrome landscapes. Over the coming weeks I will feature more themes from my Instagram profile, and other new images that I have worked up.

You can follow me on Instagram, Facebook, or my website WildPhotoAustralia.

This is an image I took a couple of years ago and didn't work up at the time. But with fresh eyes I was inspired. The falls are called Ebor Falls in New South Wales, Australia. This is lower Ebor Falls.

DSC_0198external_edit-1.jpg

About 50 metres up the river are the Upper Ebor Falls.

ebor falls crop-1.jpg

I often pass these falls when I am off on a road trip. Further down the Great Dividing Range are the Australian "Alps". Yep, that's their name. ;) They're not as craggy as other country's alps, but they are officially at alpine altitudes and they get plenty of snow in winter. This image is taken near the ski resort of Thredbo. The white things in the foreground are the dead remains of Australian snow gums that were killed in a devastating fire a number of years ago. While Australian gum trees usually don't mind fires, the alpine snow gums are adapted for snow rather than fire. Large areas were burnt in the fires, and the landscape up there is quite bleak in the areas where the dead trees remain.

IMG_5693_Viveza-1.jpg

Further down the road, and over the Bass Strait to Tasmania, we come to a vast wilderness with craggy mountains (by Australia's standards ;) ) and endless bush walking. Mt Anne, in South West Tasmania is the front door to some of Australia's greatest bushwalking, with the nearby Federation Peak sitting tantalisingly on the horizon. Federation Peak will have to wait for another day, but I did do the walk up Mt Anne after the fresh snow melted a bit to allow the climb. I think the monochrome processing does justice to the mountains in this part of the world. There's always a slight feeling of foreboding when I head off on these solo hikes. Me being me, I usually do it when no other walkers are about. The solitude of a wilderness is one of the most evocative experiences one can have.

DSC_0792-Edit-1.jpg

And finally we have the stunning beauty (and isolation) of the Overland Track in Cradle Mountain National Park. I've walked this week+ long hike a number of times, but this time was in full on snow. An incredible experience, if somewhat (i.e. really) hard to walk in without snow shoes. Carrying 30 kilos through knee high snow in some parts was challenging my crappy fitness... :)

DSC_0486-1 psd-1.jpg

Remember, you can follow me on Instagram, Facebook, or my website WildPhotoAustralia, or follow me here on Steemit for more of my photography in the coming year.

If you want to see quality photography on Steem, follow @photofeed. I only discovered them last week, and they are doing a fantastic curation effort. Support them if you can. Cheers. :)

Sort:  

Resteemed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by revo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63