You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dutch watermills: The Haarmolen (edited repost from 9 months ago)

in #photography7 years ago

Oh the stories that old mill could tell....invade? When I visited the Netherlands to meet my husband's parents I could not mention to my Fatherinlaw that my great grandfather on my mother's side was German. Both my husband's parents were children during WII and my fatherinlaw Hendrik almost starved to death during the German occupation....Hendrik was not allowed to watch football between Germany and the Netherlands for his health .... he might of stroked out he would get so angry!

Sort:  

There's still a lot of hatred in the older genarations, and I can't blame them. My grandfather was in a concentration camp and liberated only just in time by the Russians, and many people in the bigger cities starved when the Germans cut off the food supply in the winter of 1944/1945.

On a lighter note: we are still waiting for the return of all the bicycles the Germans stole 8-).

We get along fine now though, and the invasion bit was just a joke. Or not?

There is another kind of invasion going on perpetrated by globalization and mass migration. It's very painful to watch but a lot of people disagree with me, I feel this isn't good for Europe or the immigrants, that is letting large alien populations move into long established cultures without any kind of order or integration.

My husband makes the joke about stolen bicycles all the time😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68441.01
ETH 3847.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66