Photochallenge BeachWednesday: Tall Ship Leaving Elkhorn Harbor

in #photography7 years ago

So there I was sitting on the beach photographing shore birds when I was surprised by this tall ship leaving the harbor. Have you ever gone to the beach and seen a tall ship randomly? Probably not. It Glided away like magic. It was nice that it was at sunset and we had some good backgrounds to photograph it against.


Tall Ship-08296.jpg

Sort:  

wow, Very Beautiful

good post thanks for sharing

follow me @thunderland

Hi. What camera gear and settings were used here?

Sony A77 ii, sigma 150-500mm @150mm, f8

ISO probably around 400-800 and shutter speed most likely 1/500th.

I know the f/stop for sure and the focal length because I remember having to rack all the way in and that lens is only sharp at f/8(it's cheap). I usually had my min ISO set at 400 and min shutter speed at 1/500th when I'm shooting birds. I didn't have time to change anything and they worked well anyway.

What's funny is I have an EXIF viewer that I forgot I was using - and even then it doesn't always work on photos here on Steemit. It seems to work for yours, though!

cool. I could have looked it up in lightroom but that not an easy task when you have a library of half a million photos.

Oh man, I know that pain. LOL

A link to this post has been featured in today's W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit!
https://steemit.com/wwtop5pix/@winstonwolfe/w-w-s-top-5-photos-of-steemit-004-march-1-2018

Thank you for the feature. :)

WONDERFUL EPIC SHIP AND SHOT WITH THE WAVE THERE SO NICE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36