Gorgeous Waterfall and Rock Formations! Today's nature walk in NH -- original pics for SteemitPhotoChallenge #8 entry!

in #photography8 years ago

I drove up to the stunning Lost River Gorge & Boulder Caves in North Woodstock, New Hampshire this morning with @melissag and our buddy Pedro. These shots are of Paradise Falls, a gorgeous 35-foot waterfall that I let the exposure hang a little long on to create the streaming effect you see in the water.

I've not played with long exposures too much, so it was fun to get to try it out for this photo challenge! All pics were taken on my Canon EOS REBEL T3i.

The Lost River Gorge & Boulder Caves, located in New Hampshire’s Kinsman Notch in the White Mountains, is a land of spectacular beauty forged by the powerful forces of water, wind, weather, and time. The shaping of Kinsman Notch and the surrounding mountains began about 300 million years ago. The Ice Age brought glaciers more than a mile thick that grounded, lifted, and deposited rocks that formed notches and mountains. When the ice melted, the water carried debris, eroding the rocks and forming Lost River Gorge.

Lost River is so-named because the brook draining from the south east part of Kinsman Notch disappears below the surface in the narrow, steep-walled glacial gorge. The Gorge is partially filled with immense blocks of granite, through which the brook cascades along its subterranean course until it eventually emerges and joins the Pemigewasset River, which flows south from Franconia Notch.


About Me!

My name is Randy Clemens and I am the author of The Sriracha Cookbook, The Veggie-Lover’s Sriracha Cookbook, and co-author of The Craft of Stone Brewing Co. I am a graduate of the California School of Culinary Arts and am featured in the award-winning Sriracha—a documentary film by Griffin Hammond.

In early 2015, I moved from Los Angeles to participate in the Free State Project, a geopolitical movement getting 20,000+ libertarians/voluntaryists to relocate to New Hampshire to decrease the size and draconian reach of the government while protecting individual liberties.

You can read more about me on my Steemit introduction post! And if one (or more) of the things I've written about here tickles your fancy, you can follow my musings on Twitter via @SrirachaBook and @RandyClemensEsq.

Sort:  

NH is a beautiful place! Great shutter speed and exposure!

Following ya now... keep up the sweet nature photos! :)

Thanks again for hosting this great challenge @jamtaylor @berniesanders! It got me to try some different settings on my camera for a change :) And great theme choice @nighthawkdive! Cheers!

You should get a neutral density (ND) filter for your camera if you like doing shots like these. It'll allow you to take a longer exposure during daytime hours, creating an even smoother water effect.

PS - I've totally heard of your Sriracha book but I don't remember where. I know of the Free State Project and I used to listen to Free Talk Live.

Thanks for the awesome tip! I actually think I might have an ND filter somewhere... I'm still new to most things outside of auto mode lol, but I did buy some accessories when I got the camera and that may have been one of them. Canon T3i takes such great shots I haven't felt too much of a need to learn More advanced techniques but now I'm feeling the desire to get more into it :)

Cheers!

Very nice! I could imagine it as 100 meters or 1 meter waterfall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67