There's nothing brighter than the sun after a pouring rain & thoughts about the ups and downs in our lives

in #photography6 years ago

This morning we woke up to a cloudy, rainy day. It looked like it was going to be raining all day. I got my rubber, special boots on and off I went to meet my brother for a coup of tea in the Old Town of Bucharest.

When we got to the coffee shop it was still raining and the seats near the windows were all taken. So we got a table further away, and I was sitting with my back at the street side so I had no view towards the outside.

Two cups of tea and two hours later I was amazed and happy like a child to see the rain had stopped and the sun was shining so brightly.

So on my way home I started taking pics I could share with you.

But while doing this I started thinking about the contrasting experiences I was having in the same streets only 2 hours apart.

And how I thought while walking in the rain on the way to meet my brother, that today was going to be like this until evening. I had no hope whatsoever to see the sun today. I was not sad or anything like this, because rain has its charm and we need it as much as we need the sun.

However, I couldn't stop noticing that this is how I think about other situations of my life. Especially the challenging ones.

Like quitting or losing a job and starting the search for another one. The days, weeks or months in between jobs are tough and sometimes I feel and believe that these tough times will last forever. I forget that everything could and will change in a blink of an eye when I'll get that new project or job.

The same happens when I'm sick. Even if it's a minor cold, when I'm at my worst my mind starts creating scenarios about how I'll always be like this.

Or to be more accurate I used to be like this.

For sometime now (a couple of years maybe) I started becoming more aware of my thoughts and recognise the toxic ones on time before they drag me into a depressed state.

I remind myself that I'm currently in a rainy period of my life and as certain it is that the sun will eventually shine again my life will also take a positive turn.

And as certain it is that more rainy days will follow after the sunny ones, my life will have its ups and downs. It's just how life is.

Nature reminds me so beautifully to welcome what is, day by day, and not get attached to anything, be it rain or sun.

I hope this inspires you to not fall into the same trap of negative thoughts like I used to.

Or if you do fall, to remind yourself that the sun will shine again in your life. It's just that you don't know yet when.

Anyhoo, back to the photos now :)

The cobbled streets of the old town are still wet:

IMG_9231.JPG

IMG_6032.JPG

One of my favourite buildings in Bucharest, against the blue sky:

IMG_0259.JPG

here in contrast with a modern one:

IMG_2256.JPG

A church reflected in the bank's glass walls. You can also see me dressed for rain, with my rubber boots. I was thinking that if someone just woke up they would look at me and probably think I'm a bit weird, walking wearing these boots when the sun is shining so brightly :)))

IMG_8925.JPG

And finally more contrasting architecture, closer to my home:

IMG_7286.JPG

Enjoy your Sunday, no matter how the weather is like where you live now ;)

Namaste!


Hi, I'm Raluca. Freelance copywriter, currently going through a Yoga Teacher Training. I have an educational background in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.
Raluca round crop  copy.png

Sort:  

@raluca You take wonderful Pictures. Have you been Nominated Yet for the 7 Day Black and White Photography Challenge ? If you have not then tonight when I do my Second Day photograph I could nominate if you would like to participate ? See my latest posting to see what it is about.

thank you @stokjockey! no, I haven't been nominated for the Black and White Photo Challenge. I will read more about it on your blog, thanks for telling me about it.

Thank you for taking the time Raluca. When I post my 2nd Day Picture tonight I will Nominate you for the Challenge. You may participate if you choose to do so...............

Beautiful pictures

Why this is not in trending? ahh no worries it soon will be! Great work @raluca.

Thank you @henil! :)

I believe we are all more or less children of the sun. That may be one of the reason that we are so connected and our state can change i a matter of a blink :) Enjoy the sun

Thank you, Teo! I like your belief, I will borrow it ;)

Good sun shine after rain great picture @raluca

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29