Connecting the arts #1: The shiny sculptures by Anish Kapoor

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am still buzzing over the discoveries that I made last night. Some of you might find me extremely silly after reading this. But I don't really care. I love the things that I found out.

During my day dreaming moment of a trip around the world, I was brainstorming about topics. It happened to me a few times now that only after visiting a city, I discover the amazing architecture that they have. So it makes sense to do create the habit of doing research in advance instead of afterwards. I started out making lists of architects that I like and what structures that they have all around the world. It won't happen to me that I visit a place and miss the Frank Gehry building that they have!

Doing that already gave me a lot of AHA moments. Many times I found that in the past I had already been taking photos of buildings from the same architects. But I never connected the dots. I saw buildings that reminded me of other things that I saw, but I never asked the question: Are they from the same architect? I just (wrongfully) assumed that they were just inspired by the other building.

After architecture, I moved to arts. And surprise surprise, the same thing happened! I was figuring out who made the Bean (Cloud Gate) in Chicago, which is one of my favourite photogenic sculptures of all time. I found the name Anish Kapoor and googled the other sculptures that he made. "What?"...


The Bean in Chicago by Anish Kapoor

First I saw a picture of the ArcelorMittal Orbit sculpture, which is that Olympic Tower thing in London. I have seen that from a distance but never felt motivated to actually get closer to snap some pics.

The second picture, however, looked very familiar to me. It was Tall Tree & The Eye. Another shiny sculpture, this time located in Bilbao. I knew that I had seen it, but did I also photograph it?....I went through my photos and found out that I did!

In 2015, I paid a visit to Bilbao. The first thing that I did after arrival is walk to the Guggenheim to check it out. I had already seen so many pictures of that building, I had to see it with my own eyes. While exploring and taking pictures in the drizzling rain, I saw this fun stainless steel pile of reflecting balls. They matched the Guggenheim look very well and I didn't think that much about it, except that it looked really awesome. So I snapped a picture and continued walking...

image.png
Tall Tree & The Eye at Guggenheim Bilbao

Lesson learned? I hope so... With the cell phone coverage it is just too easy to check on the spot what you are looking at. So next time, I'll snap a picture and google if I don't know the artist. And bring a better camera ;)

Shiny to do:
Sky Mirrors in different places
Turning the world upside down
Turning the world inside out
C-Curve & S-Curve
Reach

What other stainless steel sculptures do you think I should definitely check out?

Sort:  

I like Maman in Ottawa! Maybe not the best for people with arachnophobia, but it even has an egg sac!

Oh, they had that one at Guggenheim too! Super creepy! Especially in the drizzle :)

YESS! It looks like something out of War of the Worlds.

I am happy that there was a human (with umbrella) that tried to come close before me ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=connecting-the-arts-1-the-shiny-sculptures-by-anish-kapoor


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 04:37:55
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 125.05/200.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 33
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.03 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Hola eres una estranjera en vizcaya? o eres de vizcaya?
te encontre en http://www.steemitworldmap.com/

no hablo espanol, soy de holanda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55