Walk With Me Across the Fresh Snow Covered and Sunset Lit Farm

in #photography6 years ago

We received a bit of snow and as the sun started to set I noticed how it was placing a beautiful pick color on everything. I realized it was time to go out and enjoy the beautiful time of day. Take a walk with me on Mira Mountain.

IMG_20180312_191034.jpg

That's Buffalo mountain in the image above. From the other side it looks similar to a charging buffalo. It has a long history in our area going back to the days when this was considered the wild west. I took this picture before even getting off our deck, but with some zoom.

enter image description here

I love to see the sunsets poking through the woods in front of our home. This was my inspiration for taking a stroll through the snow. Well, this and all the wildlife tracks I spotted. It seems that you never know how much wildlife is around until it snows. Then we notice that almost no places are left untouched. The deer it seems are everywhere everyday!

enter image description here

There used to be an old barn right where our home stands now. We wanted to save it and were even talking to some folks who could help us move it. But it wasn't meant to me as a tree fell on it shortly after we started to prepare for building the house. We were able to save the wood to use building our cabinets and kitchen island.

enter image description here

I love to see this pink looking snow from the sunset. There isn't much daylight left now!

enter image description here
Does the snow really make everything more beautiful or is it just because we don't see it as much and it's a pleasing change for our eyes?

enter image description here

There's that full view of Buffalo Mountain from the deck, although it looks really small in the pictures from my phone. The mountain is also a Natural Area Preserve with a wonderfully maintained walking trail. You can hike to the top in about 45 minutes. As soon as spring breaks, we'll have to hike up there to get some pictures for you. We are pretty proud of that mountain around here. It shows up as a general logo for just about everything. It's even known as the only place in the world where a certain type of mealy bug exists.
Here's some more info if you interested:

Buffalo Mountain is one of the most significant natural areas in Virginia. It boasts an amazing 13 rare plant occurrences, 3 rare animal occurrences, and 6 significant natural communities. The combination of high-elevation (3,971 feet), wind-exposed openings at the summit, and magnesium rich soils make it unlike any place else in the Commonwealth.

On the treeless summit, strong winds and boreal climate support subalpine vegetation including three-toothed cinquefoil (Sibbaldia tridentata) and Rocky Mountain woodsia. The south face of the mountain contains grassy, prairie-like openings composed of wildflowers and native warm-season grasses more typical to the Midwest than to the Commonwealth of Virginia. Wet, magnesium-rich seeps along the base of the mountain support globally rare grasses and wildflowers such as bog bluegrass (Poa paludigena) and large-leaved grass-of-parnassus (Parnassia grandifolia).
Buffalo Mountain is also the only known location in the world for a mealybug called Puto kosztarabi.
Source

I hope you enjoyed this little stroll with me.

Sort:  

I think snow does make everything look good. Even the most rugged of landscapes. You're extremely lucky to be surrounded by so much beauty! And the setting of your house is so fairy-tale like. It's great that you could include a piece of the barn as part of your home. :)

Thanks for your great comment. So glad you read and enjoyed the photos. We are indeed blessed to live in our own paradise.

Your house looks really good and its located on a very good place where the air is clean and you can do many activities such as hiking and what not.Your photography doesn't disappoint either. The shots you make are magical.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thank you very much. We think it's paradise here.

Wow. I would really enjoy walking in that place. Such a beautiful scenery of snows.

Thank you. Definitely a good place for a stroll.

That first photo in particular is stunning! Can I link this in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter as the featured photo? Let me know @qberry, thanks!

I would be honored. Thank you.

Those are some amazing pictures. Thank you for sharing. You have a beautiful place.

Well thank you brother. Glad you liked it. I love it here in the area where my family has been for nearly 250 years.

We got a little bit of snow yesterday. It was pretty much all gone before the sunset though.

We just got about 7 inches but it's mostly gone now too. Spring is coming!

Lovely views you have there - I think the snow makes everything look clean and new - I love the way the sun reflects off it :)

Thank you. Inspiration is everywhere for sure.

Those are some great pictures! Keep up the good work! Steem On!

Thank you. I appreciate that.

Such beautiful photos from your bit of heaven...

Thank you. I always say we are blessed to live in paradise.

Was an excellent stroll.

Does look like a pretty awesome nature location. The way you have described herein brought some vivid scenes to mind.

I love nature like you do. And yes, I think snow makes everything look better. I feature snow all the time in my posts. Love it and will miss it till next Winter.

Look forward to the post of you two on top the Buffalo.

Edit: Look like a pretty sweet log house too with beautiful landscape. A bit jelly..

Thank you I appreciate that. I'm definitely ready to start missing this snow. Bring on spring. Don't be jelly, this landscape comes at a cost of having to drive an hour for virtually anything. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70453.17
ETH 3808.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51