My Modeling Experience

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hello again, everyone! I posted yesterday about my Twitch channel and art (if you want to see that post, you can click here) while only briefly touching on the topic of my modeling. Since it's becoming a bigger part of my life, I wanted to make a separate post about that today.

When people think of models, they think of tall, thin girls making tons of money walking runways in New York and Milan. As for me, I'm neither tall nor particularly thin, I haven't made a cent from modeling, and I've never even set foot on a runway. But I still have a fantastic time shooting with new people, modeling alternative clothing lines, and goofing around with my best friends at our weekly photoshoots.

I started modeling in 2013. A friend helped me get a couple photoshoots, and I kind of took the reigns from there and booked a few more fun shoots. I wasn't too serious about it as it was just something fun to do every now and then.


I actually took some time away from it for several months when the urge hit me to get back into it. I started browsing local photographers and found one I had been meaning to work with for months. I didn't think I was experienced or skilled enough to work with her and she kind of scared me, but I messaged her anyway and that's how I met my best friend @nicoledphoto.

She lived out of town, but we drove to shoot with each other a few times and, by a stroke of luck, she was offered a job in my city and moved here. We started shooting together regularly and building my professional portfolio. She encouraged me to apply for Ladies of Metal, an alternative modeling agency that focuses on promoting metal and hardcore bands, and I miraculously got it.

Since joining Ladies of Metal, I've built a relatively large following on social media and have gotten some pretty awesome opportunities to promote some of my favorite bands and model their merch. I even got to interview a member from Veil of Maya (one of my absolute favorites) and have a beer with some amazing bands after Warped Tour this year. I was trying to keep my cool and not pee my pants from excitement the entire time, but it was still one of the coolest things ever.

Nicole and I shoot every week with our best friend Vannah and have an absolute blast. We're actually shooting later today. I'm considering posting some behind the scenes pictures later.

Anyway, just wanted to share my experience and some of my work with you all. I'm not looking to be in Vogue or be the next big thing. I just like having fun and making cool images. I'm pretty proud of how far I've come with the help of some fantastic friends and a little luck.

All photos in this post are by Nicole DelFraino.

Except the verification photo of course lol.

Sort:  

Damn, how haven't you made a cent from modelling? You're awesome! Well... my upvote just gave you your first $0.05 paycheck for modelling lol =P

That's really nice of you! I appreciate it. :)

Great work! I love the shot in the white body suit. Followed! Stay busy. I'd love to see more! Are you on IG?

Great images, would love to have you in our community :) Following you and upped :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63