A little homework can make your travel photography into a true narrative

ALASKA.. (USA)
.
.
.

unnamed.jpg

When it comes to picking a traveling companion, you can’t beat a camera. Whether you pack a massive bag of DSLRs or stick with the little camera tucked into your smartphone, the photographs you bring back from a trip will always be more impactful than a souvenir shot glass or a T-shirt with a mildly clever saying on it. But travel photography is more than simply grabbing snapshots while away from home. Some basic planning can mean the difference between a random stack of photos (be it paper or digital) and a cohesive story that not only captures the place you’re visiting, but your experience of being there.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

ZION NATIONAL PARK.. (USA)
.
.
.

michael_george_8.jpg

Last May, my friend Matt and I spent ten days exploring Zion National Park and the surrounding areas. We make a good travel team because he is a reckless Eagle Scout that likes to push boundaries and I am a middle-aged soccer Mom stuck in a twenty-something man body. I grew up surrounded by alligators and cottonmouth snakes in southern Florida but currently I live in Brooklyn, New York where the closest wildlife is the family of mice that scurry up and down the walls of my bedroom. Matt and I chose Zion because it let’s nature capture you, throw you into the crumbling sandstone, and see if you make it out alive.

I spent the first few days soaking in the landscape and cataloguing details that give Zion it's unique and other worldly feel. I took note of how the sun arced through the canyon in the middle of the day and wrote down a list of must-have shots. Over the course of the day I photographed textures, landscapes, and used Matt as my go to stand in silhouette. Every corner of the park was spectacular, the only real limit to my creativity was the pain in my knees.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

SASITHON POOVIRIYAKUL..(JAPAN)
.
.
.

sasithon_9.jpg

Each year, I try and make a conscious effort to shoot personal work outside of my assigned projects. Travel photography is a passion of mine and Japan was at the top of my list to photograph. So when a photo assignment took me to Hong Kong, I knew I had the perfect opportunity to tack on some time and head to Japan afterwards. Whenever I travel and photograph a new place, I like to get lost and just wander.

Japan was wonderful to photograph because there are so many different places and pockets to explore and each one feels so different. From a photography perspective, this lends itself to a diverse series of images.

Sort:  

Congratulations @procanvasgallery! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @procanvasgallery, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @procanvasgallery! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52