You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rural Americana

First, you need to downvote soan55. The link they are posting is a trick to phish peoples log in information to hijack their accounts.

I too love the B&W photos. probably because of the small B&W TV I had as a child. I too miss the brick houses and buildings. There is a lot of it in Indiana. I mentioned before my dad had a small farm in rural Indiana, his house having been built in the late 1700's. The very small downtown area there reminds me so much of the pictures you have been sharing.

One thing that really stands out is the woodpile you show. In small towns theft is not so much a worry as it is in the cities. Thanks for sharing more great glimpses into the out of the way places where life has a different speed and code.

Sort:  

Yes, I downvoted them and I'm working on what needs to be done next with their account they are sending this comment to many people. Their account is nothing but pictures of a young girl.

Yes, the large flag pole and the storm cellar with wood piles really caught my attention. It's my friend's house and his nearest neighbor is about 250 meters and that is through a field. Everyone in the area is heavily armed as well. Not a good place to steal firewood. lol

I lived outside Kokomo, Indiana when I was child. It was only a few years, but I remember it fondly. My father was an executive for Ponderosa Steakhouses if you can remember those.

Everyone in the area is heavily armed as well. Not a good place to steal firewood. lol

lol, yeah it was like that in Fortville as well. I can remember as a kid when my dad would pick me up for his weekend, he would leave his car running while we ran into the drugstore. No doors locked at home (we had lots of dogs that roamed outside freely) and everyone had guns. I think I was maybe 5 when I first shot a gun at my dads. Amazingly you never had any school shootings despite kids having access to all these guns back then. But then we were taught responsibility back then, not to blame everyone else.

I lived outside Kokomo, Indiana when I was child. It was only a few years, but I remember it fondly. My father was an executive for Ponderosa Steakhouses if you can remember those.

Don't remember the name of the place, but when I was about 19, I went to Kokomo to purchase wholesale items for sale at the flea market there in Indianapolis (it was held at a drive in theater, another relic from the past). And I do remember Ponderosa. My second paycheck job was when I was 14/15 as a busboy/dishwasher. As a kid I remember thinking it was fancy when we would go eat there, or Macs steakhouse. Funny how things we take for granted as adults seem magical as children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58