Rural Americana

P1000923 (2).jpgFlag flies out front of a house in rural Jackson County Missouri

I took these shots in rural Missouri. I really liked how the photos turned out without color. I think it helps remind us that in flyover country, much of what is dear hasn't changed as much as some might think.

Square bw.jpgNew shops with the classic Main Street look

Main Street Independence, Missouri. Cup of Joe or a Carmel Machiatto?

P1000925.JPGPrepared for Winter and tornadoes

Wood piles near a tornado shelter. There is more than enough for a Missouri Winter so much of this wood will be sold off to others.

brick (800x600).jpgOld brick never goes out of style

House in the center Independence built in the late 19th or early 20th century. Brick withstands the elements and also displayed wealth when it was built. It has seen over a century of people come and go, but it is still standing beautifully and regally.

Divider Steemit.png

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

All photos are mine.

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240
Discord - EnergyAddict#9726

Divider Steemit.png

steemit promo image.jpg

Sort:  
@energyaddict22 nice shots, especially the brick house and the fire woods, the B & W made it come out like one of those scenes I saw in some movies as a boy. I guess every area has that particular thing that makes it peculiar and that should always be cherished. Still your boy @royaltiesboss-eu

Thanks for the nice comment. Glad you enjoyed the photos. ;)

You are welcome boss

I like the pictures....they are well composed but I would have liked one or two in color... But they are all beautiful tho

Thanks for the comment. I will post some color photos soon. ;)

like this...good work! ahppy too supprt.

This could be just about any small midwest town. Flags fly high, Church is attended on Sunday, and the old homes were built with pride. Hard to explain small Midwest towns to someone that hasn't ever been to one.

I agree. That is one of the reasons I did so many posts on the Midwest (still have one coming this week).

First, you need to downvote soan55. The link they are posting is a trick to phish peoples log in information to hijack their accounts.

I too love the B&W photos. probably because of the small B&W TV I had as a child. I too miss the brick houses and buildings. There is a lot of it in Indiana. I mentioned before my dad had a small farm in rural Indiana, his house having been built in the late 1700's. The very small downtown area there reminds me so much of the pictures you have been sharing.

One thing that really stands out is the woodpile you show. In small towns theft is not so much a worry as it is in the cities. Thanks for sharing more great glimpses into the out of the way places where life has a different speed and code.

Yes, I downvoted them and I'm working on what needs to be done next with their account they are sending this comment to many people. Their account is nothing but pictures of a young girl.

Yes, the large flag pole and the storm cellar with wood piles really caught my attention. It's my friend's house and his nearest neighbor is about 250 meters and that is through a field. Everyone in the area is heavily armed as well. Not a good place to steal firewood. lol

I lived outside Kokomo, Indiana when I was child. It was only a few years, but I remember it fondly. My father was an executive for Ponderosa Steakhouses if you can remember those.

Everyone in the area is heavily armed as well. Not a good place to steal firewood. lol

lol, yeah it was like that in Fortville as well. I can remember as a kid when my dad would pick me up for his weekend, he would leave his car running while we ran into the drugstore. No doors locked at home (we had lots of dogs that roamed outside freely) and everyone had guns. I think I was maybe 5 when I first shot a gun at my dads. Amazingly you never had any school shootings despite kids having access to all these guns back then. But then we were taught responsibility back then, not to blame everyone else.

I lived outside Kokomo, Indiana when I was child. It was only a few years, but I remember it fondly. My father was an executive for Ponderosa Steakhouses if you can remember those.

Don't remember the name of the place, but when I was about 19, I went to Kokomo to purchase wholesale items for sale at the flea market there in Indianapolis (it was held at a drive in theater, another relic from the past). And I do remember Ponderosa. My second paycheck job was when I was 14/15 as a busboy/dishwasher. As a kid I remember thinking it was fancy when we would go eat there, or Macs steakhouse. Funny how things we take for granted as adults seem magical as children.

Great Work! We appreciate your quality content and use of our service.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-29-18

This is fantastic! I'm glad that my content was selected. Thanks for the recognition.

Hope this comment finds you. I'm doing some tutorials for people that I've referred to Steemit and I want to explain why I use BuildaWhale for upvotes and how to navigate the SteembotTracker. My question is whether Buildawhale bot still gives a "front runner" bonus to early bidders in each round. Steembot Tracker used to display this, but has since removed it. Also, I noticed that under ROI on the bid bot, it now displays, "10% Capped". Can you explain that to me? Thanks for your help. Best regards.

Awsome photos buddy, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the comment. I appreciate it.

This post got upvoted by @goldenwhale

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

You got a 39.92% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @energyaddict22. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69