Sort:  

Okay, so that being a Russula was my instinct and now confirming my instinct with logic, it is typical for Russulas to have red caps (but they do not always have red caps) and they are gilled mushrooms. Both traits evident in your photo. The reason I ask if you have access to the mushroom is because if you throw a Russula at something, it will break into a bunch of pieces upon making contact with whatever you throw it at. Lol. That's an identifying characteristic/test I recall from a mushroom walk. Apparently it can be pretty easy to identify that a mushroom belongs to the russula genus, but prove quite challenging to ID it down to species.

That's amazing.... it's so difficult to identify!! I like to photograph them!! Not very good at the rest... yet! Yes they are just down the hill in my local woods.

Oh sweet! Go grab one and throw it at something! Lol

If it breaks into a bunch of pieces, it should be a russula.

You are very kind and helpful... thankyou.. I'm very new to both photography and steemit! So really just stumbling around in the dark trying not to be annoying!! I have had my EOS about 6 months now... but always had a strang fascination with photographing shrooms and fungi! 🍄

Awesome! Keep up the good work and keep the passion alive! Little by little right? That's the beauty of growth and process, is it happens gradually overtime, and eventually you don't realize your a badass in the area you've been applying yourself to, until something shows up and you realize how much you know. They say, first you don't know you don't know. Then you know you don't know, then you don't know you know. Then you know you know. Then idk! Lol... Keep it up @poofshroom! I'm pretty sure the steemit community will accept you for wherever you're at from what i've gathered. As long as you are acting with integrity. Which isn't hard for someone who cares about life. Right?

Never a truer word said... thankyou

You're welcome! Thank you!

@michaelmcdermott is absolutely right.

With Russulas and Lactarius species, identifying them by photos on the internet is incredibly difficult, if not impossible, with any degree of accuracy. I recently purchased a large book exclusively for identifying Lactarious species in North America.

Having said that, you can definitely ID this mushroom with some time and effort. A great place to start is Michael Kuo's awesome post on the Genus.

But, if you're like me and @michaelmcdermott, given the fact that a lot of Russulas are tummy achers that need a lot of work to eat anyways, and very difficult to identify precisely, you will just become confident in the identifying the Genus, take a photo, and continue on.:)

@michaelmdermott, you seem to also be a mushroom lover - check out the keystone post of "The Amateur Mycologist" for a crashcourse on macro identification.

🍄 fantastic 🍄

Almost impossible to find these in books... 😱

There is this thick, super thorough book called Mushrooms Demystified written by David Aurora. It is suggested by Paul Stamets. I am assuming you know who he is, but if not, he is a master mycologist and super cutting edge with research in the field of mushrooms including myco-remediation (using mushrooms to remediate pollution in instances as grand as oil spills, or much smaller.)
But yes, nothing replaces first hand experience such as mushroom walks with experienced mycologists, plant walks with botanists, or getting in the field with foragers.
And that extends to first hand encounters and recountings from what people have experienced outside of that setting as well.

Check out this badass Steemit article I just found when doing some research. It's by Steemit author @valth : https://steemit.com/nature/@valth/how-to-identify-edible-russula-mushrooms

Was so cool, I went off Steemit, onto google to further research russulas which then brought me back to Steemit finding his awesome, descriptive article in google search results.
So cool!
Full circle.
And shows the potential and epicness of Steemit and how it can become a closed loop!!!!

Wow thank you

You are so welcome!

Beautiful.

Is that a russula? That's all I got right now. I believe that may be the genus. Russula.

Do you have access to the mushroom?

Super this mushroom. I will follow you because I love the mushroom and your articles are very interesting. Thank you

Thank you... I am following you to

Thank you following to

@valth Any perspective? /insight?

It could for sure be a Russula species, but finding out which of them by only looking at this picture is impossible. The stem really looks like a Russula to me, but it's also blurry, so I can't even say that with a 100 % certainty. Sorry for not being of any help with this one!

I'm going to head back after dinner... I will pick some and bring them back... perhaps they would be better shots to identify?

Perhaps! The article @valth posted seems to provide a process for identifying edibility without necessarily needing to know the exact species. Where are you located? He did mention some limitations to his identification process based on geographic region, and also encouraged cross referencing from multiple resources before feeling solid on a positive identification for edibility.
As some say, anything is edible, but it may only be edible once. Lol.
Checkout the article by @valth though because it has some very useful information. Some I've heard before with the taste test on the mushroom walk I referenced earlier. Refreshing to be reminded of things I forgot which come back with the memory being triggered. Thanks @valth

I also came across this more dense article by Michael Kuo, of www.mushroomexpert.com where he says, "When I try to identify russulas, I don't even bother if I don't have at least three specimens to work with (unless there is something very distinctive about the mushroom), representing the various stages of maturity. I carefully record all of the ridiculous features--like how far the cap cuticle peels, or whether the spores are "partially" or "completely" reticulate--to the best of my ability, trying to be objective. I have found that it helps to curse loudly while doing this, but this may or may not help you with the process. Then I get out the keys and descriptions, and have at it. I keep my expectations low, because I know that I am likely to end up with three or four possibilities, each of which varies fairly substantially on one or another feature."
Article here:
http://www.mushroomexpert.com/russula.html

That's for bringing it down to species. Which it sounds like @valth has a general guideline for determining edibility (with the limitations he mentions) in his article. Like I said, the guidelines he outlines are memorable to me, but like @valth encourages, we best make informed choices sculpted from numerous sources.
His process of IDing edibility of russulas reminds me somewhat of how in botany, through learning characteristics of various plant families, you can know significant things about a plant without knowing it's species or even genus! Just by being able to identify that the plant is in a certain family. Which in certain cases translates to knowing edibility of a plant. Generally speaking.
So yeah, from my gatherings, there are guidelines that can lead to identifying edibility without knowing the species, but this is not always the case, and is dependent on establishing certain other understandings.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84