Insect Photography Contest: 25 SBI shares and upvotes in prizes!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

As promised, following the great success of the insect photo contest that I hosted two weeks ago, I am here with another round of this fun challenge where all bug photo enthusiasts are welcome :)


IMG_20190505_074343.jpg
Close-up of a large rhinoceros beetle that I captured in Colombian mountains a few weeks ago.


This time around, however, I prepared a more attractive prize pool to reward all the great entries that I will (hopefully) receive in the contest. There will be 5 winners who will get 5 SBI shares each from me but there will also be 5 runners-up who will get my full upvotes on their entries, which means that as many as 10 participants will be rewarded this time.


The rules remain unchanged and simple:

1) Only 1 entry (photo) per person.
2) Only your own photo.
3) Add a short description to the photo (at least 20 words please).

Upvotes and resteems are not required but will be highly appreciated of course since I am, as always, funding the prizes from my own pocket.

As I am expecting even greater response to the contest this time, I might also ask some participants to prove their ownership of the submitted entries in case of doubt to keep the contest as fair and honest as possible.

You can start submitting your insect photos in the comment section below from now until Wednesday (June 19), 8:00 P.M. CET.

I am looking forward to checking your submissions :) Have a wonderful day and keep on steeming guys!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

6012E6D2-651F-4374-AA13-DA233952023F.jpeg

Found this beautiful beetles when I do gardening at my back yard. Tried to google search it to find out what kind of beetles is this, but couldn’t. Because there are so many type of beetles and I have a hard time to figure it out. Thanks @phortun for hosting this contest! This my entry 😉

Awesome entry, thank you so much for joining :) Can you pick and submit just one of these shots please? :)

oh sure! sorry I didn’t read carefully lol

Beautiful photo, of a very interesting looking beetle!

Hi @phortun, thanks for your initiatives and below picture is my entry of this contest.

Butterfly

20190615_002218.jpg

Couple of days ago I went to a plant house and found some trees with beautiful flowers and few Butterflies roaming around. I've followed couple of them and able to capture few pictures & videos.

Here I'm posting one of the pictures captured in that good moment. Hope you like the colours.

Beautiful butterfly! Thanks for your entry :)

Thanks for your comments! I just love the colour of it! Colourful!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Stunning photo!!

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well this was a hard decision to make between my two favorite photographies i took last weekend, but you can still see the other ones in my blog post.


This one is a Libellula depressa, or also known as broad-bodied chaser. It's very common in Europe and i managed to photograph this one at our own pond.
Personally i totally love its blue chitin-plates.

I checked that post. Astonishing close ups. Congrats and thanks for your entry :)

In this photo, my close acquaintance with the butterfly, which is called - Cardinal.

This is a cautious butterfly. I had to convince her that I did not represent a danger to her. As a result, I got a picture in which the butterfly proboscis is very clearly visible, at the moment when she drank nectar from the thistle flower.

DSC01859.JPG

Stunning details :) Great entry! Thanks.

I missed the first round and now I am happy to submit my photo that I took two days ago. It was a hot day and I was on a street with roses where I took many photos of the flowers. As usual I was looking close for anything small that maybe hiding and I saw this little one sunbathing on top of the flower.

f0fxzph0wf.jpg

Samsung J5 smartphone camera

I am glad you didn´t miss this round :) Great macro!

Thank you! Diky! :-)

Great photo!!

Thank you kindly. Glad you like it.

IMG_4943-S.JPG

I found this moth/butterfly on my front step a couple of days ago. Initially I only saw the wings and their markings. Once I took a few photographs, it moved and colors emerged that were hidden by the wings. I have no idea if this is a butterfly or moth, I just know it is beautiful!

Beautiful close up, it is an honor for me to have you in this contest :) Thanks for your entry Cornell.

20190614_184700-1.jpg
Fire insects are animals whose mouths are pointed and venomous, if the bite is affected it will feel sore and even hot on the skin when bitten.
I found this insect on an eggplant tree near my house, he happened to sleep, so be careful not to disturb the life and nest because he will sting our skin.

Thanks for your entry. Can you please pick just one of these photos and extend your description to at least 20 words?

20170515_170754.jpg
Pani vážka na žabke:)

Krásná, pamatuju :) Tak o ní ještě něco napiš, pokud možno anglicky :)

Great photo!!

I took this photo today in my garden. It's a rose chafer, also called as the green rose chafer. The beetle is between 14 and 20 millimeters long and eats nectar. Often seen on flowers. :)

4.JPG

I love its color :) Impressive shot, thanks buddy :)

It's nice to see a new photo contest on Steemit!

Here is my entry for this round:
IMG_20190617_134220_095.jpg
This is the face of Vespa mandarinia japonica, the Giant Asian Hornet. This is a social wasp and can be found throughout Japan and East Asia as well, Japonica is a sub-species but the size really doesn't change all that much. Found this one recently deceased, I think it drowned, they are, ironically, rather weak to heavy rain.
More information and photos here: Giant Hornet

Woooow so all those photos in that post are actually yours? That is awesome. I didn´t know it. Are you a pro photographer?

@mweich, amazing capture. like, for 20 seconds I tried to figure out what is on the picture, what insect I see it here. only after that, after reading, I suddenly understood I see a portrait, that its just a single head !!!!! oh my ... what lens did you use, how its capable to achieve such a magnification ?!?!

Wow, wow, terrific photo! Fantastic close-up.:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51