Giant Hornet (Vespa mandarinia japonica) 6 photos

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_20190617_134220_095.jpg
This is the Giant Hornet, in East Asia and Japan this species finds it's home. There is some debate over which area has the largest variant though they are generally about the same size: huge.
CLICK to see the original size!

I was fortuante to find a recently deceased and undamaged worker.
DSC03113-1.jpg
She's a little bunched up but I estimate her total length at about 43mm.

DSC03114-1.jpg

Head width was impressive too!
DSC03096-1.jpg
Ruler was a bit off-centre but it looks like about 8 or 9mm to me!

Bonus profile pics! These wasps are built like tanks! That helps a lot when they raid honey bee hives for the larvae to feed to their own larvae.
DSC03107-1.jpg

DSC03110-1.jpg

I hope you enjoyed these photos!
Leave a comment below, let's build this community!

Sort:  

Hi @mweich, this post was nominated to my latest upvote giveaway by @maskuncoro. I host this weekly series to support good but undervalued posts created on the Steem blockchain. I really enjoyed reading this post and it was my pleasure to give it a full upvote. The macro shots look very impressive. If you have some cool insect photos yourself, feel free to join my insect photography contest. Keep up the great work :)

Thanks for the support @phortun, I'll check out your contest.

@mweich You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Yeah, can't stand bid bots.

so good of you! if only all of the steemit users followed this way ...

@mweich, amazing capture. like, for 20 seconds I tried to figure out what is on the picture, what insect I see it here. only after that, after reading, I suddenly understood I see a portrait, that its just a single head !!!!! oh my ... what lens did you use, how its capable to achieve such a magnification ?!?!

I had a Sigma 105mm macro lens on a Sony a7R iii (42MP full frame sensor), and very close to the subject which for a wasp is a huge monster, the head is about 8mm wide!
I'm happy the photo achieved such a reaction! :)

o, Sigma 105, I know that. I figured out this wasp was huge, and not walking around...... damn, still fantastic result! 42MP also might be of importance, right?.. so you shoot it 1:1?

42mp gathers a lot of fine data, then it can be zoomed in without a loss of image quality, click through to the images, zoom in until it starts getting chunky!
Not sure if the ratio is 1:1 lens etc is a home right now.

105 is 1:1, as far as I remember. I use Sigma 150mm with Canon 5d, and it simply doesnt rank :D but I am not too experienced in macro, started less than a year.

Ah, I wish you the best of luck. Having a specialized macro lens really does help get close and lessens the flattening effect of telephoto lenses at their maximum.

Cool and very big bug 😊👍👌🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thanks, they are rather large!

you are welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30