Cat Photography Contest: winner announcement

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

I thought that cats would make a good and popular theme for my monthly animal photo challenge (just like dogs did in the previous round) but I must say I was totally amazed and stunned by the overwhelming response from you guys to the Cat Photography Contest that I hosted last week.

The contest received over 200 comments (which probably is the highest number of comments I have ever had under any of my posts on Steem so far) and dozens of amazing entries. With such an enormous response, it was extremely difficult to pick the winners this time. I really wish I could reward more participants and this also why I am so grateful to @saboin for his engagement in this contest. @saboin rewarded every participant with his upvote and CAT tokens that can be viewed (and traded) on the Steem Engine. Thank you so much for your selfless support of this contest and the competitors, @saboin. I really appreciate your help and I paid 5 SBI shares for you as a little thank you ;) I would also like to thank to @ocd for their support of the contest.

But let´s get back to the winner announcement. After repeated browsing through all the amazing entries and some really long and proper consideration, I decided to choose these 5 winners:


@borran with this entry:

I have tried to immerse myself in photography lately. Our cat Picasso is a perfect model for practicing my photographing skills.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQSJsA58WMrW5ipM9V4dD5gPZaUmuMH4nGS84qEYZzHh6Qb1vMLk4zUCdEgW69dpy2MTiY9tL3p.png


@hansgans with this entry:

This is Kalle, he is a Main Coon and loves all sorts of boxes or packages. He loves to play from there.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHexqtMBD47CVajug7gmcmUNF47ZQvW7M7QWxYccBG8xeVMAvqcJ91jJR79YNZ5L6ddr4wzEkyVaxqta4vBu1kyE9cEqhDaPYUWuHiVNqszkJ1ySRjyc4Az.jpg


@fotostef with this entry:

I have been a dog lover as far as I can remember myself. There was always a dog around me through my childhood and it was a dog that became my best friend ever as an adult. Cats were an unsolved mystery and I had no urge to get into it. Until this furry creature barged into my life and turned me into a cat lover in the blink of an eye! I called her Vera and her beauty and attitude simply stole my heart!

7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27axCzEyjZonWtNibTWSX2VjAC8vxecq51Ep3Xnuzniu7bRj2ZKYB87estvZXx7f4zNaNuLhXiSNUn5Hqx.jpg


@lea8ndrea with this entry:

Hai..these is my two hero kittens.. six week old today.. they like to sleep and sleep! haha i'm still didn't have any idea what should i call them..my mum already named them as a 'CHEMONG' and 'BOBO' LMAO

3W72119s5BjVtYhc8EyUCS1n2TpsbpKuDhBkZTQTi2NsGVP3cuDYfbsXixUgfMwU6GnB7JCE1Coom8m4GJc5erCJBc2WMc86uJ8S1X8Qs8ydbbvXB1BVMY.jpg


@betterthanhome with this entry:

I do not have as much cat photos as dogs but I really like this one. By the way, how do I receive these SBIs? I think I won the last contest but I´ve no idea where you send the SBI to.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9VK7BRZ1XuLfxFhdRnwGBCGCSkuzRZwrJaHv5tpoF54JpmSZ8k6utHFcUGYadifBQH7PxyLA7h6KvuC.jpg


...and these 5 runners-up:


@jjprac with this entry:

We met a lot of cats on the island of Rhodes, right in the capital. There are many in the southern countries at all. Here I took one behind the bars ;-)

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWY9ydBzUYCyyMTxGFaTgMaEQ67a1J6M4hbYK8cDaS8MUqqx7qEQigupSXaShfMxCXKrx2jyNNBHrQAVsUPeNuc.jpg


@pardinus with this entry:

Cool one! I'll have to dig up my files and see if I have some among all the wildlife ones :) Thanks for the contest! Edit: found one of my favourites of the family cat; seems I don't have only wildlife photos after all! 😂 He's around 12 years now, but this was 3 or 4 years back. Here he is, louging on the rug, in one of the rare ocasions I could get him to face the camera and stand still!

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN54YxgajDB2dsCi63u5p.jpg


@xlisto with this entry:

This is our youngest cat. Mom's cat brought him to our house when he was still blind. He grew up with us at home. He is now a teenager and is playing with everything. He earned the accented name of „Cvrkous“.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPdcjfxbmpBusrdXfMXN3y67X7mFf9WrC3oFKQ3wpNLAdg4iK8vJvtgRd7eyKq8AywNbcCWMetN.png


@manorvillemike with this entry:

Moe, Larry and Curly were 12 week old kittens dropped off at my vets office in a box. I had just lost my cat from cancer 2 weeks before when I went to see the three. Vet ask me if I would take one, I said NO, I will take all three. Never regretted it.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9WxJJRjWgmq9tfBPdcVaaF8aqtk2NeFvi26v16GAd1S6CG78RxrHR7aQr7HNQ9MtHEq2W9yiVdNtffk.jpg


@holm with this entry:

I found this beauty on my way through România, a bit of a spontaneous picture on run but it turned out pretty decent :-)

3W72119s5BjVtYhc8EyUCS1n2TpsbpKuDhBkZTQTi2NsGVP3cuDYfbsXixD1sSjLepjSJEpg4W9LQ98LaSJZG69hmB5TzcE3pLCAYrWY72Dimny4T9b3nW.jpg


As promised in the original post, the winners won 5 SBI shares each, paid by me (see the screen shot below) and the runners-up got my full upvote on their entries.

Bez názvu.png


Congratulations guys, you did an excellent job :) Hopefully, you enjoyed the contest as much as I did and I cannot wait to host another animal photo challenge soon so stay tuned! :)




uvodka.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #ecology, @crypto, #traveling, #photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming! :)

Sort:  

As I had promised in a comment to the contest post, I have sent some extra CAT (Cat Appreciation Tokens) to the winners and runners-up of the contest.

I have sent 200 CAT each to @borran, @hansgans, @fotostef, @lea8ndrea, and @betterthanhome.

I have sent 100 CAT each to @jjprac, @pardinus, @xlisto, @manorvillemike, and @holm.

Congratulations to all the winners and runners-up.

CAT is more than just a token for trading and tipping. Holding CAT in your Steem Engine wallet will turn into CATnip and attract "cuddles" (upvotes) from the Steem kittens, @cuddlekitten, @steemkitten, and @steemeow. Those upvotes will be trailed by @catnet so that they don't turn to dust and you actually get some rewards from the kittens' "cuddles". The more CAT you hold, the better the chance of getting visits from the kittens.

You can find out more about CAT by visiting @catnet's profile.

I would also like to invite anyone who is a cat lover to join the Caturday Discord. It is a place where you can meet and chat with other cat lovers. There is a channel to promote your cat related Steem posts. And it is also a hub for the @catnet project and we distribute CAT as a reward for participation.

Once again, congratulations to all the winners and runners-up. Good job to all who entered the contest. And thank you to @phortun for doing the contest.

!CATtip 50

Thank you for your amazing selfless support of this contest @saboin. It was really appreciated by me and I am sure by all participants too. You are awesome.

Thank you again for the support!

thank you so much..!!😻😻😻

Posted using Partiko Android

Díky za soutěž. Být porotcem musí být těžší, než soutěžit.

V tomto případě opravdu ano. Tolik kočiček jsem nečekal. Díky, že jsi Cvrkouše taky zapojil :)

Thanks @phortun for finding great entries to reward...mine included ... sic... Cats never disappoint...

There were some great entries indeed, including yours :) It was my pleasure to host this fun :)

Congratulations to the winners!

and

!BEER
for you

Thanks for your beer support, cheers to the winners :)

Yay! I can't believe I won! :D..Thanks for hosting this contest! :)

Picasso is on the cover photo for a reason ;) I have said that before but the progress of your photography skills is really amazing man...

Thank you for the mention, and again for organizing these contests! 🙂👍

Congrats on the win and thanks for your participation man :) It is my pleasure to come up with challenges where photographers like you can showcase their amazing skills :)

Děkuji za výhru ;-)

Rádo se stalo ;) Tentokrát jste se "na bedně" z #cesky umístili hned dva :)

To mě těší ;)

Congratulations everyone! That's a bunch of great cat pictures :)) -
And thanks @phortun for hosting your contests ! Cheers buddy!

Thank you Chris. The response was truly astonishing this time. The cat community of Steem just showed their power :D

Hahahaha facts man. I didn't even know that there are so many cat lovers on Steemit :D

Unfortunately, I missed this one! But will keep an eye out for the next contest! :D

Awesome, I am looking forward to your participation :)

Thank you for the price @phortun, congrats to all the winners!

Well deserved win ;) Thanks for joining!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54