My first solo backpacking trip

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi folks!

My name is Matija, I'm 32 years old and come from Slovenija.

In the last 18 months or so I got into photography, and the more I learn, the more I love it. So I decided to try my hand at travel / landscape / nature / street photography, while simultaneously going on a solo backpacking trip for the first time in my life.

Since I always dreamed of visiting a tropical island, I bought tickets to Fiji, pretty much the farthest from home I could get. That covered my landscape and nature part. I only needed a place for street shots now, so I booked a hostel in Bangkok, and since it was really cheap and I had some money left in my travel budget, I booked another one in Kathmandu.

Why am I sharing all this info with you, you might ask.

Well, it just so happens that today is the first day of my trip. I just arrived in London, where I'll be staying for one day before moving on to Singapore, Sydney, and - on Wednesday, finally - Fiji, where I'll be staying for three weeks. After Fiji, I'll move to Bangkok for 14 days, and after Bangkok I'll be staying in Kathmandu for almost a month. I'll be posting my photos daily, starting tomorrow, unless I'll find myself without an internet connection.

I really hope this will get some views, as my main reason for writing this blog at all is to get some feedback concerning my pics from someone else than my family, friends and partner.

Below I've linked some of my personal favourite photos that I took since I started, I hope you will find them interesting, and please, post your critique, it would mean a world to me.

light_and_food__by_grothorious_dck7qw9-fullview.jpg

bone_dry_by_grothorious_dc9jdh3-pre.jpg

an_islet_with_cross_on_river_drava_by_grothorious_dcpbtcs-fullview.jpg

locks_on_a_bridge_by_grothorious_dceptob-fullview.jpg

plitvice_lakes_by_grothorious_dca9dr6-fullview.jpg

a_boat_and_a_castle_by_grothorious_dce0qtz-pre.jpg

roofs_by_grothorious_dc5xq3l-pre.jpg

private_little_dock_by_grothorious_dc8wpht-pre.jpg

See you soon with an update :)

Sort:  

By the way, this is an awesome post and I think you can do really well on this platform. In the future you might want to think about posting on steepshot or partiko. these are apps based on the steem blockchain. steepshot is similar to instagram and so caters to photographers and has a nice looking feed. partiko is an app that lets you post from your mobile but also rewards you with their own point system just for posting, commenting, and voting. you can use those points to get upvotes =)

Also spreading your photos out over multiple posts may be a good idea. Posting regularly increases your visibility and might help build your audience faster. if it helps you can write posts ahead of time and schedule them by using steempeak.com which is another frontend for the steem blockchain that has more features than steemit.

Also consider using the steemitworldmap since you do travel photography. That would boost your visibility and rewards.

If you have any questions about anything let me know .

Wow, thanks, you're awesome :) I'll try and do some of those things, all of them are a bit too overwhelming for a complete steem and blog noob like me :)

I hear that. There is a huge learning curve here. Take it a bit at a time and reach out any time. Have fun on your trip :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, I really like your work and I just featured this post in my weekly photo curation called Five Fab Photos From Fellow Fish with Fewer than 500 Folowers. (FFFFFFFFFF for short). Keep up the good work =)
https://steempeak.com/curation/@shookriya/5-fab-photos-friday-5

Welcome to Steemit!

Take a look around, read what you like and find your place here :) What about doing an introduction post with the tag #introduceyourself?

You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @acedawnmusic

We have planted already 5813.85 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26056.62
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @phobo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phobo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-first-solo-backpacking-trip


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @phobo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice. Fajn, da si se odločo na Steemit objavlat, končno lahk nekomu sledim tu ;).

Great post and most epic photos!
Your first post is better than the majority of what we see around.
My posts included. :)
Welcome to the Steem and keep your awesome articles coming!
All the best man!

Thanks, I'm blushing lol. I'll keep uploadong, no worries about that :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55