Venetian Monochrome - The Floating City in Black and White 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

In 2015 I was fortunate enough to travel to the city of Venice. As a tourist I was awed by the labyrinth of winding streets that seemingly led everywhere all at once. Squeezing through the narrow passages, people bustling on all sides and in all directions, I would often find myself caught up by the whim of crowd. I simply moved in the direction of the throng, not knowing where I might end up. Invariably the path would eventually widen onto a sun glazed piazza, enabling me to catch my breath and admire the centuries old architecture and the culture inherent in its design.

As a photographer my difficulties were far more technical in nature. One thing said about Venice is the peculiarity of its light; tall buildings cast imposing shadows that can dull the small open spaces, and the already mentioned alleyways get very little direct light for most of the day. It all adds to the surreal vibrance of the city. I recall thinking at the time how different the colour of everything seemed, even the shade of my skin appeared altered somehow.

Perhaps it was for this reason that I initially chose to shoot the trip in black and white. Though as time went by I began to realise that there was so much about Venice that was perfectly suited to black and white photography. The straight, architectural lines, the texture of the water, the harsh contrast between light and shaded areas, and the mere history of the place, seemed to warrant a monochrome portrayal.

One of the lasting memories I have is of waking up daily to the soft sound of water. Not like waves crashing on a shore, more like someone slowly surfacing in a bath, far off in the distance. That and the echoing songs of gondoliers are what stayed with me the most.

I'm very new to steemit so I was unsure how to approach this post. I wanted to briefly convey my experiences of Venice without boring you with a wall of writing. It is also my ongoing intention to show you various bodies of my work, informing you as to why I chose to shoot in a certain way, the challenges I faced, and the technical aspects of how I go about shooting and editing my photos. I'd be very keen to hear your opinions on this blog and its format, if it was something you enjoyed or would prefer I approach differently in the future, please let me know. I'll leave you with a few more photos for now, cheers everybody. : )

Sort:  

Venice is suited for black and white, indeed! I appreciate your narration. I am also new to Steemit and unlike other social media platforms, people here are genuinely interested in the story behind the work. It is certainly a shift in mindset and challenges me on the best way to "submit a story". Keep up the excellent work and we can all learn from each other.

welcome :) an a keen observation, seemit is definately a much healthier community compared to other platforms out there!

It is a truly unique community, people here seem far more willing to help one another, it's really encouraging. I'm glad you enjoyed the photos too : )

stunning... I've not taken b/w photos in a while, this is definately encouraging me give it a try!

Thanks, I'm glad I've encouraged you to try b&w photography again. I'll keep an eye out for your work.

Great set of images which portray the feeling of the city beautifully, hope to go there one day myself! Instant follower of you! Nice bit of writing also!

Woah! these are amazing! thanks for posting! followed!

thanks beevo, glad you like them. I've followed you too.

I actually really liked you walking us through the photos. I especially like hearing about the challenges/perks of the environment and how you approached your photography. Good advice for budding photographers (me!). Also, KILLER shots. I really liked a lot of these.
I've been playing with B+W a bit if you want to check some of it out https://steemit.com/photography/@chrissymchavez/b-w-street-photography-satx

Keep it up! Followed & Upvoted :) Have an awesome day!

Thanks for your comments, I'm glad you enjoy you enjoyed the post. I'll be uploading loads more, similar content in the future. I've followed you and I'll check out that link too : )

As a true photo nerd, I am wondering what kind of gear you took with you on this trip. What camera you used and what lenses etc.

Hi there, thanks for your comments. I knew I wouldn't be able to take a lot of gear with me because of baggage restrictions and the impracticality of carrying large lenses through crowded streets. With this in mind I took two lenses, the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 (very cheap and very good), and a Sigma 24mm f/1.4 Art; my camera body is a Nikon D750.

All of the pictures in the post were taken with the Sigma 24mm. I hardly used the Nikon 50mm because the shorter focal length better suited Venice's enclosed spaces. The Sigma lens is probably also the "sharpest" lens I've ever used. Thanks for resteeming my article, it means a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63508.13
ETH 2493.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68