You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great SLR cameras and lenses, all found at my local charity shop.

in #photography6 years ago

I didn't realise these old pre-digital SLRs were worth anything. I've got a couple of old Canons (A1 and AE1 if I recall) and two or three Tamron lenses.

Would they be worth much? They are still in good condition but not used for 20 years at least.



Sort:  

Seems the prices are rising a little but the money seems to be in the lenses really. The cameras in this collection can fetch around £30 each but the lenses I got with them seem to double the price. The large lens I have is a Tamron, but I think they could be on the cheaper side of things. Saying that I am a novice on the subject so don't take my word for it. I guess the best way is to check out the price on eBay, buddy.

I will do some eBay surfing...

Both Canons A1 and AE1 are worth a bit now primarily because they are very popular with the kids that are exploring film photography for the first time.

Like @article61 said the money is in the lenses. Prime lenses (non-zoom) are worth more than zooms because they tend to be better made. Lenses from known manufactures like Canon, Olympus, Nikon and Minolta sell the best.

Anything from Leica, Hasselblad, Bessa or Carl Zeiss is worth a kidney or two!

Alas my lenses are plain old Tamrons mainly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93