Camino de Santiago Part 1: Crossing The Pyrenees ⛰️

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Camino de Santiago is an 800 km (500 mile) trek in the north of Spain, that takes about 30 days to complete. It is a Catholic pilgrimage, but most people do it because it is a life changing experience.

It is both challenging and pleasant, stormy and calm, happy and sad. On the way you meet a lot of people, drink a lot of wine and listen to a lot of stories. You make life-long friends in the process.

The journey starts in France, and on the first day you cross the border into Spain. But to do so, you have to climb the Pyrenees Mountains. Here are some pictures of that day...

IMG_6431.jpg
This is Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, the French village where the journey begins.

IMG_6445.jpg
A common site on the road: pilgrims. You almost always exchange a few kind words with anybody you meet.

IMG_6453.JPG
More and more you feel detached from the real world and start to feel connected to nature.

IMG_6465.jpg
Sites like these make you remember that the challenge is always only yours to overcome.

IMG_6469.jpg
But quickly I make my first friend and walking companion: Lorenzo from Italy.

IMG_6459.JPG
And we get to the French/Spanish border, inscribed only on this rock.

IMG_6476.jpg
The difficult trek up the mountain rewards us with some mesmerising views.

IMG_6494.jpg
On top, I find this guy (left). We have the same shoes.

IMG_6495.jpg
The road is full of these gems... a showcase of people's creativity.

IMG_6507.jpg
After a shorter but more difficult trek down the mountain, we get to our first destination. The sun is about to set.

IMG_6506.jpg
This is where we'll sleep for the night.


Please Upvote and Follow me for Part 2 of this journey

Sort:  

I've done the Camino two times: once the more common Spanish route then later from Porto. It brought a simplicity to my life that carried on all the time since!

Thanks for sharing photos of the experience with the Steemit community!

I have done the Portguese one as well. I will be doing the primotivo this September. Very much looking forward!

That looks so great! I'm planning to go next year. I will follow you to read next part!

Hey do you have a facebook profile? I really wanna follow your trip. I am a traveler too and i love to hear stories about travelling :D, btw i checked the link and there is not part 2...till now

I just posted part one. You can follow me here for part 2. Please upvote in the meantime :)

I am also trying to stay online as much as possible. Right now I want to reach india by hitch hike.. I started on france and now i am in armenia. :D Sometimes i am posting news about my trip, check the hashtag journal or follow me. :D

Really thanks :)

Followed ;)
Hikeing till India, that's a challenge. Do you try to cross the Caspian sea or just make a roundabout trough Russia and Kazakhstan?

I don't know. Depending of how much I will get from my work, working on bars for 1-2 days or online random things. The only good thing is that my phone subscription is paid on 3 months with unlimited internet worldwide. Right now I am visiting the cities of Armenia. I will try to reach this cities first: Artik, Spitak, Vanadzor, Dilijan, Gosh, Sevan, Lake Sevan, Martuni, Vardemis and after that Azerbaidjan. The route will be Iran, Pakistan ( where I really want to see a lot of places) and India.I will get in India on Lahore.

It's sad that in the end all is about money, if you know any couch surfer that can get me a bed for a few days in the next month on this route will be really nice. :D

Anyways I am already exhausted it's been a long trip

Ok, then no Kazakhstan ;) .
When do you plan to go to does cities? Besides couchsurfing.org I'm on a couchsurfers group on facebook where I can ask about it and put you in contact if there is someone who can do it.

Post daily if you can. Your follower base will grow

I am at a gas station at the moment, I am moving forward to Artik

This spring we wanted to do R10 or R11 as we are more mountains people but unfortunately, there are very few good resources to help strangers plan their journey. I'd wish people would write about those as they write about Camino de Santiago. Your photos are so good I start to wander if this road won't be also an option :)

Hello @alinamarin, maybe try this 2 forums, one is in polish (but google translate can be a friends sometimes) and one in english:
http://www.caminodesantiago.pl/index.php
https://www.caminodesantiago.me/community/

Maybe if you do this routes can make a blog about them ;)

So resourceful Alex, thanks.
I will search for something similar for R11& R10, maybe my first tries were not good enough. Traveling...blogging...traveling...quite a dream

The resource that I'm laking is steem power at the moment is steem power, but this builds slowly up.

I think you can do it, maybe with a little working instead of the dots, but it is doable.

:)) I like this part "with a little working instead of the dots"

have done the camino one time

good traveling.....

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Amazing, Paul! Such an inspiration! Wonderful journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88