Jellyfish - Creatures from the stars [EN/DE]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

quallinger1.jpg


Since it got really hot here, I want to provide some refreshment today.

This time I want to show you my photos of one of my favourite animals (or aliens). For me, they came from the stars - nothing comparable can be found on earth. I could watch them swimming for hours. But in most cases my company isn´t that patient. I hope you enjoy their liquid elegance as much as I do.


Da es die Tage hier auf einmal furchtbar heiß wurde, möchte ich für ein wenig Erfrischung sorgen.

Dieses Mal möchte ich euch meine Fotos eines meiner Lieblingstiere (oder -Aliens) zeigen. Für mich kamen sie von den Sternen - nicht vergleichbar mit irgendetwas anderem auf dieser Erde. Ich könnte ihnen stundenlang beim Schwimmen zusehen, leider ist meine Begleitung in den meisten Fällen nicht so geduldig. Ich hoffe, ihr erfreut euch an ihrer flüssigen Eleganz so sehr wie ich.

quallinger3.jpg

quallinger4.jpg

quallinger2.jpg


The video I took from the even more extraterrestrial Ctenophora, also known as Rainbow Jellyfish, but are actually no jellyfish. For me they´re like transparent brains and you can see how their thoughts are moving...
Das Video habe ich von den noch außerirdischeren Ctenophora aufgenommen, auch bekannt als Regenbogenquallen, die aber keine wirklichen Quallen sind. Für mich sind das transparente Gehirne, deren Gedanken man fließen sehen kann...

If there´s a scientist who can tell more about these animals, just leave a comment and correct me :) All these photos and the video are taken from me back in 2013 at the Monterey Bay Aquarium - California.
Wenn sich unter euch ein Wissenschaftler befinden, der mehr zu diesen Tieren sagen kann, darf er mich gerne korrigieren und einen Kommentar hinterlassen :) Alle Bilder und das Video habe ich 2013 im Monterey Bay Aquarium in Kalifornien aufgenommen.
Thanks for reading! | Danke für´s Lesen
Surreales

Sort:  

Haha! I loved that picture of brains with visible thoughts.
To me they look more like pulsating lungs or hearts... Something that breathes life.

And here is a shot from an aquarium in Sweden
IMG_20171118_144705.jpg

PS: @trumpman had once made a post on a led-lights jellyfish :P
Here it is:
https://steemit.com/science/@trumpman/this-deep-sea-creature-looks-like-an-alien-spaceship

Oh nice, where in Sweden have you taken this picture? And what strange fish with pink hair has escaped...? His post provides great information. More than I have. But well, I´m here for making pictures :D Thank you so much!

That was from Aquaria Vattenmuseum in Stockholm. And the weird fish was a gift from my sister, I used to make posts with my three trolls in the past, so they can be considered as my trademark :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-28T16:46:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 27.10/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very unique jellyfish yeah. Great job

Thank you so much for your comment @alhidayat!

Thanks you, they are...

There’s definitely something otherworldly about jellyfish and the way the move through the water.

You´re absolutely right, thanks for your comment :)

Beautiful pictures @patschwork I suppose you've seen the film The Abyss (1989)

Thank you so much @melooo182 ♥ I know it for sure, but haven´t seen it yet - shame on me. Putting it on my movie list!

Agree! We should interogate why they came to earth!

I guess, they´re observing the planet to take over one day!

Oh I've only seen Rainbow Jellyfish in a documentary, shot in complete abyssal darkness, didn't know they have 'em in aquariums as well! Along the special artificial currents, I imagine their tanks might need special pressure conditions as well.

Thank you for sharing these -- I could have absolutely mistaken photos 1-3 for paintings! #4 is too realistic :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49