Dive, swim, get paid, repeat.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had that feeling in your stomach, that overpowering sensation when you stand at the edge of a precipice? It's that tingling feeling in your belly that tells holds you down and at the same time makes you want to stare down at the void. One half of you petrified, the other fascinated by the fall, all of it combined into a weird mix of fear and pleasure.

The Stari Most is a replica of a 400 year-old Ottoman Bridge in Mostar (Bosnia-Herzegovina). Yep, a stone by stone replica of a 16th century original that was largely destroyed during the devastating conflict in the 1990s. After its completion in 2004 tourists and daredevils alike flock from around the world to this bridge to dive or to watch others leap over the polished stone.

There's a group of local divers whose office is right on the ledge. 3 jumps per hour, 50 bucks per jump. 150 usd per hour. I'd jump off a bridge for that much too. But truth be told I'm not much of a diver. Instead, I found a spot to capture the man about to jump.

There's a certain mystique in people that earn their living by defying death and injury. Like Hemingway's bullfighters, the Bridge divers are Mostar's rockstars. They walk the tourist-filled streets with that suave, confident manner that comes from facing fear and not only conquering it but profiting from it.

Back on the bridge, a 10 year-old kid who acted as his manager and tip collector told me that he dives every 10-15 mins. Warming up in between and preparing for the stunt. Dozens of people gather on the bridge to watch Radim take a dive of 24m into the chilling water below.

Believe me when I say that, the Neretva River is icy cold, I dove into it from a much less impressive height of 0.5 meters, and all I remember is water so cold that I felt as if life was draining out of me. I kid you not once I hit the water I gasped for air and swam like a madman to the shore. Moments later another diver hit the water behind me to a round of applause. Over and over dozens of times each day. Dive and applause. The kid later told me that people gather to watch from the morning, some staying for hours never getting tired of witnessing a man take a step onto the ledge and face the void.

Later that day in a local bar I saw the diver sipping whiskey, bored and withered. I struck up a conversation with him. After the third shot of whiskey he confessed he'd rather be doing something else with his life. I asked him what. Staring down at his drink he said, "I think I'd like a desk job."


Oringal story and photo.

Shoto capture with a Pentax K1000 and Fuji Superia 200 ASA.

Share the love, up-vote, follow or comment below. I always reply to comments and questions! Hope you enjoyed it.

Until next time.

liquid-circle_00000_smaller.gif

Sort:  

Awesome man, great pic!

Thanks! Glad you liked it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @paperbull to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62