WILD PHOTOGRAPHY - Opheodrys aestivus

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A brand new species for @papa-pepper!


I have been waiting to see one of these in the wild all of my life. Back up in Wisconsin, we used to periodically find the Smooth Green Snake (Opheodrys vernalis) which is another beautiful species. I loved the color transition on them and really enjoyed it when we were fortunate enough to locate some.

When we moved to Arkansas, I knew that the Rough Green Snake (Opheodrys aestivus) lived in the area, but we had never found one... until today! While we were watering some plants and feeding some pigs down on the land today, Red-Pepper called me over by saying, "Papa, a green snake!" Since she was looking up in a tree, I figured that it was a Rough Green Snake!

Sure enough, that is exactly what it was! What a happy day. I'll do a short educational video about them soon for my Wild-Man's Wild Friends series, but I wanted to get some photos up right away. Do you have any idea how hard it is to photograph a very long, very skinny snake? Trust me, it's tough, but here are some of the better shots. Enjoy!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-opheodrys-aestivus



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Awesome shots, what a cool snake! Love the final proof one best.

Me too! He looks so fun!

Wow how do you find all this creatures @papa-pepper? I have the feeling that they find you ... Mowgli 😜

The color is really pretty.
Appearances look good too.
The more I see, the cute.

He/She is definitely ready for the close up! Very attractive and curious...

You say "Opheodrys aestivusi", but Wikipedia says "Opheodrys aestivus".

Still learning Latin, thanks for the catch.

We don't have green snakes here in N Calif, but we have rattlesnakes. Getting a close photo of one of those may be dangerous to your health.

I personally fo not like snakes..it is terryfying..nice shot..and you got it just right..these ones are not found here in Ghana..my sister gotta run away if she sees this..and you did well taking the shots....how fid u do it...hope you never got bitten too?...indeed nature is beautiful

Sweet shots, I'd feel much less nervous around this snake vs the last one you took pics of.

Man that's so beautiful to see! The camouflage in the greens is just stunning and that proof photo....man how you got this one!?
Amazing!

It was so cool to finally find one!

He looks like he's as happy to see you as you are him!

That he does!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14