WILD PHOTOGRAPHY - LITHOBATES SPHENOCEPHALUS UTRICULARIUS

in #photography7 years ago

These guys are such cool creatures!


Although there are other kinds of Leopard Frog, this one happens to be the Coastal Plains Leopard Frog (Lithobates sphenocephalus utricularius.) Actually, it happens to be part of my Pest Control Posse this year, which means that it is a helpful creature that lives in the garden and helps keep the pests in check.

What caught my eye on this one was the coloration. With such a cool brown and green base featuring brown spots and then their golden eyes, it is a sight to behold. Though they are really fast and can jump several feet at a time, I was able to get some good photos to share. Enjoy them!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-lithobates-sphenocephalus-utricularius



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I once worked on a nature conservation project to rescue the Ramsey Canyon Leopard Frog https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramsey_Canyon_leopard_frog

I helped backpack 3000 of them up the mountain for release into the wild. The backpacks had to stay hydrated and filled with water. Was quite an effort.

That sounds incredible! Great work man!

That sounds like a really interesting project! It must have been pretty heavy to carry a backpack filled with frogs and water into the mountains.

It was. But the view there definitely inspired me to keep climbing.

I'm afraid of frogs but you have a good shot on it. Keep it up @papa-pepper

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wonderfull post and deligious animal..!
good click and keep it up..!
plz upvote and thanku

I don't like frogs but seeing this pictures and their big funny eyes really cracked me up. A good way to start my day.

Those are some really good pictures of the Coastal Plains Leopard Frog, @papa-pepper! Thanks for sharing this frog with us ;)

Thanks for checking king it out.

good post and beautiful

30, 40 years ago there was plenty of frogs here. Now it's hard to find one. I believe the farm chemicals are to blame. Those are some very cool pics though.

Frogs are among the first to go, since amphibians can absorb so many pollutants through their skin.

When I was young, and swimming in a creek. I saw a little indent in the rocks and hiding inside were 3 or 4 little frogs.
I was thinking how cute they were and then one jumped forward, hitting my eyes, and they swam away.
Great defense to poke your opponent in the eye.

Nice picture, great caption...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51