WILD PHOTOGRAPHY: JUVENILE LAMPROPELTIS CALLIGASTER

in #photography7 years ago

Check out this little Prairie Kingsnake that we found!


This is another one of those great reptiles that we just didn't have up in Wisconsin. We have found quite a few mature ones in our time here, but this was the first juvenile that we have come across. I decided to put it up on a tree branch to get some good shots where the side and belly patterns would also be on display. Enjoy the photos!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-juvenile-lampropeltis-calligaster



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nice shots, I didn't realize how small it was until the proof!

at last i see you without glasses :)

delicious photography and always be happy💙

Hi I like the pics, is that the snake that mimics a rattle snake , uses its shed to appear like a rattle snake at the end of its tail, are you familiar with what I'm talking about?

I know of a lot of snake kinds that will shake their tail to appear like a rattlesnake but I have never heard of one using its shed skin to do that.

I'm not too sure if that's what it is, but the one I'm talking about, not only resembles the rattle snake, but it also has a tail like one. this snake reminds me of a rattle snake in appearance

great creature! you're lucky to see it so close!

Perfect Shoots papa pepper , I like that snake :)

No, not venomous!

But scary, as a reptile. Beautiful shot, nevertheless @papa-pepper

What a lovely snake! Beautiful photos. Thank you for sharing not just this snake, but your love for things herpetological to demystify them for people who have grown up knowing only fear of then.

great, this is very cool.

I just saw this snake this time. he is very interesting, but I am still afraid of snakes. thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66