WILD PHOTOGRAPHY - AMBYSTOMA MACULATUM

in #photography7 years ago

These guys are incredible!


This Spotted Salamander (Ambystoma maculatum) was a recent gift from @bluerthangreen, who knows that I love wild animals. He found it down on his homestead and wanted to bless me with it, which was excellent. We used to find them sometimes up in Wisconsin, and I have always loved the striking difference in colors between the black body and the bright yellow spots.

I thought that I should document this specimen with some photographs before releasing it. They sure are a beautiful species. Enjoy the photos!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-ambystoma-maculatum



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So pretty. We have the little green ones here that look like they've got camo - the tiger salamanders. Ive keot a few as pets over the winter and let them go in spring.
Theyre so awesome.

Awesome. We don't have anything like that here. There was a frog on my doorstep when I got in from work yesterday

Awesome. We don't have anything like that here. There was a frog on my doorstep when I got in from work yesterday but that's not really the same thing!

Amazing Photography

He is so cute, but wouldn't the yellow make him stand out and be prey.
Do they bite?

we called them waterdogs back in the fifties when I was a kid.

That is an amazing specimen. I have never seen the black ones before. In Germany we have the yellow ones and I think they are called fire salamander. Beatiful creatures. I must say I find amphibia particularly interesting in the animal kingdom. My favourites as a child were newts which we had plenty in the pond. In Costa Rica where I live now I haven't seen any amphibia but frogs. And frogs we have plenty, including the dart poison frogs and the Kermit The Frog frog which was discover last year I think.

Its so pretty @papa-pepper but today's your article is so small.

today's your article is so small.

?

It was a photo post, so I posted a lot of photos...

Oh my goodness, it's much smaller than I originally thought!
EPISODE 53 – SPOTTED SALAMANDER

Yup = very cool little guy. I think tomorrow I may try to milk a snake.

THIS I GOTTA SEE! Could be a great side job, I think venom is very expensive. I once saw a man that milked black widows.

Interesting, got a black widow too!

He did that in a special way. If I remember right he gave them a tinny electrical stimuli to cause them to secrete their venom. Gosh, I need to see if I can find that again.

I know, what a cute little guy! Love the colors. Great photos:)

picture talent nice 1 papa-pepper.

this is my first look at it
thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

Now you've seen them. Personally, I think that these little guys are great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59