TRYING TO GET ONE OF A KIND ARMADILLO PHOTOS

in #photography7 years ago

You have no idea how hard getting a shot like that can be.


While I was driving back from the land yesterday, I noticed an interesting text that I had missed from my neighbor. It read, "Armadillo art North grapes." It took a little descrambling, but I was soon heading towards the vineyard nearby for a peek. Sure enough, there in the field, was an armadillo. Soon I was crawling across the field on my belly with my new camera in my hand.

STILL FIGURING THINGS OUT

At first I tried sneaking close and taking some photos, but even at only 20 feet away, the results were not exactly stellar. I'll figure things out eventually, but for now, let's just say that I am glad that I am @papa-pepper. I resorted back to my old ways, set down the camera, and took off on foot. Soon, I had captured the armadillo. As I was walking back, I noticed something interesting.... another armadillo. Once again, I set the camera back down and took off. Soon, I had one in each hand.

BEING RESOURCEFUL

This was another opportunity when having helpful children comes in handy. Since armadillos can carry leprosy, I wasn't about to have anyone else hold them still. So, I handed the camera to our oldest daughter, Pinkie-Pepper, and let her work on taking some shots. While the seven year old may not have the same "eye" for a stellar shot that I do, there is no time like the present to practice!

Personally, I think that she did pretty good. I may still try to find a way to take my own photos of the pair, but I'm not sure how to pull it off yet. I'll keep you posted!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-armadillos

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Armadillos eat grubs, worms and insects. With terrible eyesight they rely on using their sense of smell to hunt and those ears won't just be radiators. So, spread a load of foodstuffs in a relatively confined area, stand downwind from them and whilst they're feasting, snap away. Hopefully, shots of them feeding will suffice.

Leprosy's curable these days, btw. You just need to get diagnosed early. Good luck with the photos.

Leprosy's curable these days, btw. You just need to get diagnosed early.

Yeah, I found that out after I learned about it the first time. Good advice on getting some more shots!

Hey big papa-pepper I don't know anyone else to turn to, can you please help me by consider delegating to me on the MB market some small ammount of SP for two weeks? Thanks

I dont delegate... Not sure who you should ask.

Hi @papa-pepper,

Such an extensive blog on Armadillos!

Thanks :)

Basically trying to share a few good photos my daughter took.

Hard, but worth it.
Pictures look amazing with all the details.
Resteemed!

Thanks! I'm glad that I can catch them and my daughter knows how to use a camera!

Nice pictures

Yeah it can be hard to get good pics of wildlife. Like this guy... he was too cold to gaf tho

A new day a new adventure

There is no place for boredom if you are @papa-pepper

Ps: What are you going to do with those armadillos?

We relocated them, as they can do a lot of damage to gardens, plus they have the potential to carry leprosy.

post is very interesting will i resteem. @papa-pepper

Nice, exellence pics 💪☺️

Darn Papa-P, The Crocodile hunters got nothin on you! Nice shots!

I've heard that before, but I'm not saying that I agree! ;-)

goldmatters An armadillo is not likely to chew you up as a snack if you mess up the catch, a saltie on the other hand...you may not have another hand after meeting one of them!

Nice catch nonetheless Papa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60666.02
ETH 2636.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60