CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - NEWT

in #photography7 years ago

Time for a newt!


It took me over 30 years before I finally found a newt up in Wisconsin, but here in Arkansas, I find a lot more of them a lot more often. This one was dropped off by a neighborhood boy.

Newts are a type of salamander, and like many other salamanders, they lay their eggs in the water. Tiny larvae eventually emerge and look almost like little “lion-salamanders” since they breathe through gills under the water.

Newts are very peculiar in that they have a larvae stage, and have two options as an adult. Either the newt will mature in the water and remain aquatic for the duration of its life, or it will crawl onto the land as an eft, and then mature into a terrestrial adult.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-newt



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

Looks like a newt to me!

@sevinwilson
That's a good one! Haha!

Thank you! That is one word that makes me slimy feeling!

I hear ya! You're welcome!
@sevinwilson

Lol, sure does.

Thank you @papa-pepper I love nature and animals. That lizard looks awesome! I remember when I was going to the nearby swamp in Poland to look for lizards:

You can check my last post about Golden Orf fish it's awesome too:)
https://steemit.com/blog/@edekadam/the-golden-orfa-leuciscus-idus-beautiful-garden-pond-fish-photo-video

Very cool! Thank you!

With all you animals and knowledge of them have you ever considered creating a petting zoo?

You want to pet a newt?

Hy @pappa-pepper amazing creature..great pictures.thank you

Thank you too!

They look much bigger in the water

Yeah, they look bigger up close too.

I kinda like this post.... but.. maybe I'm just newt-ral on it. :)

2 points! I like it!

That's what he said!

You are a unique human being!!!

:)

@papa-pepper
Newt looks like one cool dude! 😎

Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54