Are you out there?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I was going to write a poem to go with a couple of these pictures that I took in Cape Cod in 2004, but I can't think of any words that are good enough to summarize the emotions I feel when I remember this day.

I sat on the beach there and watched the sun go down beneath the water. Sometimes you can almost hear the sizzle as it touches the sea. I think I heard that line in a movie, or read it in a book. It always stuck with me. Look at it in the water there.. it's almost gone. Hear the sizzle?

2003_0114june13_040032.JPG

I saw a father playing with his son and it dearly touched me. He pointed to things and they played in the sand and then they dipped their toes into the water (it was very cold water.) They had no idea that I was watching them so intently.

They will never know that I took this picture of them. In some way it almost seems wrong of me to steal moments like that from people, but really, I am not stealing anything from them.

2003_0114june13_040036.JPG

They will carry those memories along with them forever all on their own. If, for some reason, they forget, then maybe Fate will lead them to these pages here. If you find yourself placed neatly in a picture within my writings, please do say hello.

Life does work in funny ways.. People cross paths by way of interesting tools sometimes. Maybe you're really out there. Maybe this is our finding-each-other tool. Maybe your'e really here. That would make me happy.

Regardless of that scenario, I hope that wherever you are, you are as happy as I wish for you to be. Both of you. And to everyone else that was there watching the sunset that evening: I won't ever forget you. Any of you. You sunset-loving strangers .. you are just like me.

2003_0114june13_040033.JPG

2003_0114june13_040037.JPG

download (1).png

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥

Photography ©2018 @paintingangels
download (1).png

Sort:  

"I'm sitting here on the beach,
Watch the sun melting into the sea,
And I'm waiting on my lady,
and the love she brings to me..."

What a beautiful blog, photo and writing. I enjoyed reading it... and yes, I'm one of those who love to watch sunset on the sea, though not so much these days because of real life stuff. Whenever I watch these moments, they always feel magical.

A lot of tribes think that if you take a photo it steals a bit of your soul ...i sort of think there is a truth to that but it is not a bad thing because it makes you immortal ...even when your body is long gone a part of you remains, lingers because of it ...

Somewhere, in the dim past of 1991, One of Six stands on a beach, watching storms and lightning out over the sea. He's always been there, except for a brief moment last year... You know what happened when he came to 2017.

But he's there now, watching storms out over the sea, and I pray he remains there forever... Some things of the past were not meant to be uncovered.. Some moments should never leave the beach.. But this...

Something tells me, in times to come. They will be so happy that you took this picture. <3

I love the silhouettes against the twilight... twilight is magic you know

I once was in a street in Krakow with these amazing Brazillian drummers, dancing round with my little boy. Months later in Lisbon I met a guy who kept looking at me like he knew me. We couldn't figure out from where. Travelled with him for a bit. He got a roll of film developed and there I was dancing on the street in Krakow in his photo....

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love the picture where you've captured the last sliver of the sunset. I heard it sizzle from over here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49