Underwater Photography @ Dahab / The Blue Hole, Egypt - Red Sea

in #photography7 years ago

The Sinai Peninsula

One of the most special places to see in Egpyt is the 7,000 year old Coral Reef at Dahab on the Sinai Peninsula. The reef literally hugs the beach and is home to a wonderful array of species including almost impossibly shaped Pipefish, Puffer fish, Butterfly & Angel Fish in pairs and shoals of tiny Golden fish, blue fish.. among a dazzling array of hard and soft corals.

35mm Film

This was one of those rare opportunities to use 35mm film with camera in a waterproof case. The film produces a rich dreamy blue, grainy texture underwater and I wasn't sure there would be anything to see until the prints came back from the lab as the light is absorbed quickly at a couple of metres.

A trip to the Blue Hole

Facilitated by an epic Quadbike journey across the Sinai Desert, through enormous sand dunes then past resting camel trains along a thin shingle beach. Once we arrived we changed into our wetsuits and headed out through a small gap in the beach side of the reef. There were plenty of Freedivers with their incredibly long fins and futuristic looking diving goggles. We skirted around the edge taking in the coral. We were accompanied by some large Puffer Fish who peered down into the deep watching, mesmerised as scuba divers bubbles gently rose from the darkness. I knew the Hole was a dangerous place. Many divers have died at the bottom of the hole trying to reach the open sea. It was a bit spooky and eventually we got cold and returned to the dive shack for hot apple tea and some warm snacks.

info below from wikipedia "The Blue Hole is a diving location on east Sinai, a few kilometres north of Dahab, Egypt on the coast of the Red Sea. The Blue Hole is a submarine sinkhole, around 94 m (300 feet) deep. There is a shallow opening around 6 m deep, known as the saddle", opening out to the sea, and a 26 m long tunnel, known as "the arch", whose top is at a depth of 56 m (184 feet). The hole and the surrounding area have an abundance of coral and reef fish. The Blue Hole is a hot spot for freediving because of the depth directly accessible from shore and the lack of current."

13695188554 - fish watches the scuba bubbles in the deep blue.jpg

Puffer Fish watches Scuba Diver's bubbles from the bottom of the Blue Hole

13723293845 - happy life village underwater garden in the.jpg

Underwater Coral Garden in shallow seas

13689395419 - reef fish dahab egypt coral reef.jpg

Fish Congregate in Search of a Tasty Treat...In this case a pocket full of bread

13697560717 - free standing column of coral in the red sea.jpg

Isolated Column of Coral like a miniature underwater Island

13690480553 - coral reef dahab red sea egypt.jpg

Reef Reflection on the Undersurface of a Wave

13689916596 - reef fish on the prowl for food dahab egypt.jpg

Swimming with the Fishes

Sort:  

Amazing! love diving in blue waters...

Thanks It's a great experience.. back with the fishes where we belong !

I look on your photo @outerground .that u ve enjoyable travelling. Have a nice day. I appreciate i upvoted for this one @valtr .I hope someday i ll be there. Visit my blog for latest post, i hope u like it.

love travelling.. love photography, love life.. Thanks, I'll visit :)

You welcome. I hope you like it.

Congratulations @outerground! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

thanks Steemboard.. love those badges

Great photos! Film, eh? It's inconvenient, but does produce beautiful images.

It's just so rare I use film these days. I've got a Nikon F70 in my photo cupboard with a roll of film in it that's been in there for ages. I just use digital so much that using film feels quite special

I know the feeling :-) My first serious camera was a Nikon FM-10.

:) my first real camera was a Zenit-B with a 50mm lens, fully manual camera heavy as a brick, no light meter.. still got it, love it. It was the cheapest camera on the (used) shelf. £17 in old money!
I might do a post just on my photo kit.. my favourite camera is Canon Powershot, I bought on ebay for £12 a few years ago. it's 4mp but takes lovely snaps. I bought it for sailing so I wouldn't be bothered if it went overboard (that has happened before) my beloved Sanyo Xacti snow camera is lost at the bottom of the River Thames ! & probably still there intact being waterproof and shockproof !

I'm sure that some archaeologist will find the lost camera in about 500 years...
My FM10 was all manual, except for a very rudimentary light meter. When I moved overseas, I bought a Canon Powershot Elph and loved it! Well, until it died a horrible death, anyway. Canon makes the best point-and-shoot cameras by far.

my Dad had a 35mm Canon Snappy in the 80's I loved it ! I reckon there's photos on the card with me and my mate boarding his boat near Medmenham.. One day they'll discover it was us using advanced AI tools and face recognition software which will find us online.. we'll probably be in a virtual exhibition about life in the 2000's.. how primitive we'll seem in 500 years time !

My wife and I had a wonderful dive trip in Sharm El Sheikh on the Sinai for our honeymoon. Great visibility and warm water (relatively speaking, most of my bottom time has been in the Great Lakes). The locals thought we were nuts diving in shorties.

Everyone has great feedback from Sharm. I learned to dive in the Greek Islands a long time ago. 100% visibility and quite war.. diving in shorties is the best kind.. I'd wear a 4mm suit in the Agean.. have had some snorkeling all over the place too but nothing beats Mackerel Bay on the Great Barrier Reef in Aus !

Wow, you have so much to share @outerground 😊 Undewater World is not our environment and thus is interesting in almost every frame. If I had some sea a little closer, I would certainly buy that NIKON 1 AW1 😊 Can you say what year was that?

Thanks PT ! There's nothing quite like underwater. It's the closest I'll ever get to being an astronaut and in some ways far more interesting than space. being weightless is undeniably addictive and walking down the side of an underwater mountain (or rather flying) is a really special experience. That Nikon 1 AW1 is a little cracker.. I've got a gopro (similar) with waterproof case & mounts and it's FANTASTIC.. cost less than $70 for the whole lot and I've taken it filming in the the Cenotes & Mangroves of Yucatan, Mexico.. The quality is quite incredible and I'll post some here.. ultra wide angle lens is "inclusive"

Great work!! Especially the first one is very creative and beautiful!

Thanks Ellen, I was as mesmerised by the bubbles as the fish was !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52