Street Photo Collage - NYC

in #photography7 years ago

Century 21

The iconic department store near ground zero in Manhattan has a mirrored window with their easily recognisable signage. I took a photo of it and in the background there was a distorted reflection of a crane. I was taken with the image and decided to do something with it so I eventually decided to carefully craft a photo collage of street art ephemera which I had seen in NYC and had caught my attention. Dick Chicken was a weird one (as I had seen it in Shoreditch London and then I saw it again in Williamsburg, Brooklyn). The I LOVE NYC interpretation was a suitably post modern reference as was LOVE ME, which seemed the most direct, and unwittingly honest sticker of street art I've seen anywhere. Bin Laden gone, also seemed poignant given the location.

Not As Easy as it looks

It's not as easy as it looks to make the images fit the window. I also wanted to keep the crane. I had to slightly distort and re-position each image to fit the window pane. I wanted it to look as though they were really there, but of course how could a reflection of a crane in a mirrored window sit on top of blue asphalt from Times Square. I hopefully got the level of subtlety just right. The use of shadow on the bottom pane was a lucky gift and the overall dirty look is from the original photo. I chose a chequer board pattern so that alternate panes are utilised and the subsequent panes are left blank / original. This created a kind of balance, ( I think) .. feedback, thoughts, welcome.)

Created in PshopCC

Artwork constructed in Photoshop CC which is to my mind, the most amazing image manipulation tool ever invented by a group of crazy coders at Adobe. Thanks to Seetha - one of the Photoshop Gods - Seetharaman Narayanan

If you are interested in Street Photography & / or Street Art and would like to share your posts, thoughts, work and inspiration with like minded steemians, click here to join a new community on discord EVERYBODY WELCOME

.
CENTURY 21 PHOTO COLLAGE by outerground.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @outerground to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Possible to exchange votes

yeah you should come and join street photo, we're all about cross pollination !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50