Photos from a world that no longer exists - Part 2

in #photography5 years ago

Premise - Check the Part 1!

This post is the second part of a series inspired by the travels and the life of my grandfather, one of the most influential person in my life.

6t2gi9qgfm.jpg

I wrote a brief description of his life in the Part 1, which also contains the first photos I decided to share.

In this post, I want to share other photos of his travels, representing a world that no longer exists.

Subject of today: the Past, the Future

In this post, I selected the subject of the time.
I tried to pick photos that represent people, animals or situations that make me wonder where are they now and what are their lives like after all this time.
In the next posts, I'll choose different subjects.

9c8tmcu21s.jpg

Irian Jaya - New Guinea (1985)

My grandfather always told me that he tried to respect the local cultures in the best manner he could.
He often managed to meet the natives of the various places he went to, and he had the opportunity to see some of the local costumes.
Who knows if these costumes are still alive, today.

fie5vlwckv.jpg

Labrador - Canada (1987)

This is one of the most emotional photo to me.
My grandpa talked a lot about these two dogs.
They were called Naok and Taok and they travelled with him all the time, during his journey.
I love how they look in this photo.

b0y1f4ln6s.jpg

Mexico (1984)

This photo makes me smile.
It's always good to see someone smiling, singing and playing the guitar.
I imagine this mexican night, with the stars and everything, and the two guys playing some kind of music that makes everybody sing and dance.
Wonder where are they now, 35 years later.

74qoakmhd6.jpg

Borneo (1997)

This is a photo I like a lot.
Two babies, maybe brothers, that look curious and amused.
I like to think they were exploring the surrounding for the first time, with that feeling of wonder typical of the children.

Stay tuned for the part 3!

I'm constantly collecting and selecting the photos I like most from the thousand of shots he left me.

Let me know if you liked this post or not, or if you felt something looking at those photos.

Have a nice day!

@otosclerosi

Sort:  

Hello @otosclerosi, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nice part 2. I particularly like the one with the hunters/warriors.

Did you just discover these pics recently or are you going down memory lane?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)
Yes that one is really beautiful and spontaneous.
I already knew these pics existed before also because my grandfather used to gather us in the living room and project the photos with an old projector, but I just recently started to convert them in digital format to avoid degradation of the film.
I'm discovering them again for the second time and I'm appreciating them a lot.

I think your grandfather did well to represent culture.

Thank you, it was his intent to do that in the best way he could

I think our grandparents had a more healthy heart than we do.

He still is a great inspiration to me, indeed

Verry good brother, to the picture culture phptography. Good jhob and congretulation

Thank you very much mate

Borneo (1997)

It is my favorite shot.

It's very cute :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70