Our unexpected adventure - Reunion Island 4

in #photography7 years ago

DSC_1478-01-01.jpeg

This is the final episode of our improvised holiday trip to Reunion island. After spending 2 1/2 weeks here and experiencing an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions because of a slight job mishap, we have decided to move on to our next destination.

But before I tell you where we've landed next, here is an overview of some of the things we've been up to just before embarking on our next adventure.

DSC_0889-01.jpeg

This is Franck and Sophie's beautiful place called La Baie des Mangues, on the upper parts of St-Gilles. We set our bags here for our last 7 days and couldn't have chosen a better option.

They are amazing hosts, welcoming and more than happy to chat and help out with anything you need. Franck speaks excellent English and has a genuine interest in all his guests, while Sophie is very generous and always happy to share her best tips to maximise your stay on the island. If you are planning a trip to Reunion, I can only highly recommend renting one of their 3 apartments (at super affordable prices too).

DSC_1361-01.jpeg

One of the bonuses we found from staying there was that not only we were a quick 10-minute ride to the beach, we also benefited from living in a greener area surrounded by fruit plantations - which provided us with that extra freshness (ok it's barely felt but still) much needed especially after spending a long day at the beach.

DSC_1353-01.jpeg

If you look around you from the swimming pool deck, you will find what is called "The bay of Mangoes". One late afternoon, I decided to take a stroll through this plantation and discovered not just mangoes but a range of various fruits, just like these custard apples you see above.

It is formed of several small fruits. These are stuck together and form a round fruit, with a scaly surface. Inside is a delicate and sweet cream, which must be eaten before spitting out the seed.


Papaya
)
Bananas

DSC_1374-01.jpeg

This is what a mango tree looks like. I thought some of you may be interested as I had no idea... in fact, many of the exotic fruits I eat grow on trees or in ways I couldn't even begin to imagine.

Did you know that 50 different varieties of mangoes can be found on Reunion island?


Ripe mango just waiting to be picked

Combava or kaffir lime

And these are just a few! Reunion offers an incredibly diverse range of fruit and vegetables, some of which are regularly found on the mainland, while others can be a bit surprising, although always delicious.

The little guy you see on the right is a 3-spotted green lizard (Phelsuma laticauda). Originating in Madagascar, it was introduced in Reunion island around 1975. Its body can be studded with tiny yellow dots, which earned it the name of "gold dust lizard". It has a large yellowish green tail.

I was extremely lucky to catch this one on camera as they are typically very shy and have a tendency to run away quicker than the speed of light if anything moves near them.


FotoJet (103).jpg

Above is a collage of all the different birds I saw in Reunion island. These are the most common ones anyone would have the opportunity to see. The little red/firy one, called a Cardinal, has the most charming little chirping sound, and is often heard in the early morning at the Bay of Mangoes.

The one on the bottom left corner, the "Martin triste" has quite the personality - it creates a great variety of sounds (it can even imitate the sound of certain animals) and is the least afraid of humans - in fact he acts a lot like humans as he is more often seen walking than flying!

These birds can be found all around the Bay of Mangoes, nesting and singing throughout the day.

DSC_1488-01.jpeg

This is a weird looking crab we found on one of the volcanic sand beaches towards the South-western side of the island. I had never seen a crab with such a difference in color between body and legs. I wonder if the body is darker due to the sand being darker (camouflage? diet?)

_edited2.jpg

Back for one last drive in the upper parts of the island, I discovered the lovely little swervy road of Hubert Delisle. It offers beautiful views of the West coast and a tour of typical creole villages in lush greenery and multi-colored flora.

It is such a treat to drive along these roads, windows wide open, listening to the radio playing its oh-so-famously festive and joyful creole tunes - which I found myself actually singing along to after just a few days :) (yeah... you hear a lot of the same songs)

DSC_1425-01.jpeg

Side-of-the-road store/restaurant which seemed to have been deserted.

DSC_1417-01.jpeg

Geraniums to me have always been a very common flower - grown in all parts of France, I had no idea it was originally one of the reason that made this island famous. The greatest perfumers travelled to Reunion to hunt down the best geranium essential oil in the world: Bourbon geranium. Originally from South Africa, this geranium was considered one of the greatest treasures of Reunion island because of it exceptional quality.



On my way back down the mountain, I thought I'd hit the beach one last time before leaving the island the next day. I picked up Asher (who stayed home writing a post) and found another little corner of paradise:

DSC_1316-01.jpeg

I'm not quite sure what it was exactly, but these beaches were so quiet... rarely anyone could be found.

Reunioners do tend to go to the beach on weekends and French school holidays had just ended so maybe this was the reason... it could have also been due to the fact that it was particularly boiling hot that day.

In any case, it was far better that way than being on any overly crowded beach barely able to find a spot to lay.

_edited1.jpg

After roasting just about enough :) I'd remembered Sophie telling me about the beautiful sunsets which can be seen from the Southern part of the island, in Etang-Salé.

DSC_1444-01.jpeg

Here, there is a beautiful and easy 1 to 2-hour walk you can do all along the volcanic coast. We started off at the seaside cemetery - Reunion has some of the most poetic cemeteries I've ever seen, very often looking out to the sea.

DSC_1461-01.jpeg

Little multi-colored rocks placed inside cavities created by a giant lava rock. I thought that was very cute and creative nature art - I did place my little stone (it's the yellow one at the bottom).


Sunset over the land of cairns

Natural beauties

DSC_1522-01.jpeg

This last image marks the end of our trip to Reunion Island. But, as the graffiti says "Si vous voulez rever" - If you want to dream... well, I shall continue a little bit of our dream on the islands if you wish to keep following us as we have decided to travel to Mauritius island, a short 1/2 hour flight to yet another one of our planet's paradise.

Like I said earlier in this new series, we don't know where we're going... but we're going!

Map Location: !steemitworldmap -20.998427 lat 55.5777763 long Reunion-Island D3SCR

mj-pagebreak-5png.png

All photos in this blog were taken with my Sony Xperia Z3 - except for the photos of the birds which is a collage I made from internet photos (my crappy little camera phone couldn't possibly do these gorgeous creatures justice).

Don't hesitate to leave comments, ask questions, and share ideas - I love to hear from all of you.

To view some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Our unexpected journey - Reunion island 3

My great-grandfather and Burgundian houses

ICE challenge

Our unexpected journey - Reunion island 2



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

Well, another beautiful travel post! I love that big lava rock filled with all the little rocks, what a magical thing to find as you are strolling a beach! Looking forward to seeing what’s next on your blog! :)

Thanks @lilyraabe. It was the cutest thing I'd seen all day. Almost looks like the shape of a whale too :)

Oh YES. Now that you say it I totally see it. Like a cute little whale with a hump! :)

hello belle dame ! nous connaissons Franck et Sophie pour avoir partagé ensemble un voyage dans le désert du Sahara en Defender Land Rover. Pourrais tu leur passer le bonjour pour nous si tu es encore sur place ? Merci !

QUOI?!? Mais c'est incroyable ca! A priori ils vont lire nos blogs donc j'espere qu'ils verront ton commentaire (on a deja bougé sur l'ile Maurice).
J'y crois toujours pas... C'est bien les memes Franck et Sophie?? Haha

en fait, on s'est perdu de vue lorsqu'ils ont quitté la France...
[url=https://goopics.net/i/3qonW][img][/img][/url]
si tu as l'occasion de les joindre un jour, tu leur passe le bonjour, merci Belle Dame ! et oui, la terre est ronde et on retrouve toujours ce que l'on a, un jour, pensé perdu.

Ah oui c'est bien eux!!! Le monde est petit en effet. Je te donne leur email si tu veux... Ca leur fera très plaisir d'avoir de vos nouvelles c'est sure.

Oui, je veux bien, merci Osmosis ! De toute façon, je crois que mon époux a envie d'aller à la Réunion ;-)

Leur email:
[email protected]
Joyeuses retrouvailles!!!
Sylvia

MERCI Osmosis ! tu devrais t'appeler Aurélie, car tu nous a reliés ! bonne suite de voyage...

Haha!
La réaction de Franck quand je lui ai dit... ppppffffff ces moments la sont vraiment précieux, et si rare. Heureuse d'avoir fait le lien pour vous relier.
Juste pour ca, je suis contente d'etre sur Steemit tiens.

Wahou tes photos sont superbes ! La faune et la flore que tu as capturé avec ton appareil sont juste de petites merveilles de la nature !

Tu as du en prendre pleins les yeux la-bas, merci pour le partage :)

Pleins les yeux oui! C'est magnifique la Reunion.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=osm0sis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=our-unexpected-adventure-reunion-island-4


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It sounds like your stay on Reunion Island has been a great unexpected adventure. I like your images of all the different tropical fruit growing on the trees. I can't imagine having 50 kinds of mangoes. How could someone ever try them all, especially as a traveler? Have a great time on Mauritius! If you see @progressivechef, please say hello from me, one of his Steemit Iron Chef regulars! :D

Il est vraiment super beau celui-là. Oui oui oui je veux rêver, quel dommage que tu aies dû partir! Tous ces fruits, fleurs et oiseaux, un vrai paradis. Mais que font-ils des 50 sortes de mangues, pourquoi n'en n'avons nous qu'une ici?

Attend tu verras, l'ile Maurice c'est aussi assez surprenant. Et pour les mangues, je ne sais pas trop, ca ne doit pas bien s'exporter si loin...

I've heard that Madagascar has an exceptional variety of plant and animal species some of which can't be found elsewhere. I've wondered if it's the same on Reunion given the proximity and from your posts, it certainly has a wide variety - 50 mango types!!!! And I too had no idea what a mango tree looked like.

As always your sensibility and eye make your posts such a pleasure for me!

Thank you Ruth. I wish I could go to Madagascar as I have heard the same thing. I think it's Reunion island x10! And yes the mangoes are surprising. I think I only tried 2 different ones (and didn't taste the difference... oops)

Goodbye Reunion Island! I love the tour you took us on with the tropical plants to the small birds and creatures of the island. I bought a mango tree once because I absolutely love mangos and wanted to have them ready to pick off from the backyard. Needless to say, the tree died when the snow hit during the bitter winter. I know mango trees are tropical plants but I so wanted to grow them!

The rock cavity is really cool. Hope you wrote in both your initials before putting that yellow rock in there. Maybe someone could stumble upon it ages later and wonder who "A & S" could be.

I finally finished my 'hw' for the initiative I'm involved in, and wanted to take some time for myself to enjoy the beautiful island of Reunion via your post. :)

Safe travels!

Shame about your mango tree. But hey, if you don't try, you'll never know.
Maybe putting a huge thick plastic to cover it during Winter helps (unless it's -40C then you're just s*** outta luck). I've seen people do that with banana trees and it works, even throughout snowy winters.

What's the initiative you are involved in? Drop me some links!

Not quite -40C but yeah, no luck in that area. We have been successful with the banana trees though. Trim them down to the stalk and like you said, cover them with plastic bags. We started with 3 banana trees and now they come back year after year in full force. Must be 50 trees in the backyard. No fruits, simply reminders of tropical paradise.

Funny that you should ask about the initative. Asher is our biggest sponsor! It’s new, the #newbieresteemday initative. I help with what I can by writing a recap of the events. I really don’t know what I signed up for when volunteering to write the recap! But I know we’re helping others and I like that. The link is below.

I had asked Asher if it wasn’t too ‘weird’ if I followed you. No stalkish or hidden motives I promise. I just like your travel blog and sense of humor. I wanted to comment every time he resteemed something but it didn’t feel right. But he was ok with it so here I am. 🙂 You two are a lovely couple.

Btw, if you ever hear Asher complaining about having to pull reports for a gazillion people for his Curation league, yeah, that would be our fault. Lol. Dave is one of our founders and he encouraged many of our newbie members to join Asher’s leagues. I’m not sure Asher knew what he signed up for when he told Dave to “invite all”.

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@beeyou/weekly-recap-for-newbieresteemday-2nd-edition

Yes, now that you mention it, I don't think I've seen any bananas growing on them there either... the big leaves are enough to give that exotic feeling.

So I just asked Asher about the #newbieresteemday initiative. That silly fool never told me about it!!! He's involved in millions of different things so it's a bit hard to keep up with him as you can imagine. Steemit is his life right now... there's not much else he does, so the more you give him, the happier he is!
Sounds like you guys are doing a great job helping out the ones who need it the most. And quality posts too! I'll definitely be visiting as often as I can.

Of course it's not weird if you follow me! That's part of the beauty of Shhteemit :)
And please comment as often as you like. Thoughtful comments like yours are scarce sometimes.

Hugs :)

I’m glad that Asher is not the part of the % out there that can make a difference but choose to stay inactive. His involvement in the different activities means he is invested in the growth of this platform and the people. Few take the time to even care.

I believe he made a comment to Dave saying he spent hours replying to everyone and adding our newbies to the Curation leagues. Hehe, we will definitely keep him active for sure.

I look forward to seeing photos from your next destination. I’m stuck in the winter here but can live life vicariously through your travel blog. Oh, I saw the DTube video of the dolphins. Wow! That has to be one of those experiences in life you will carry with you forever. They are such beautiful creatures. I think I would be too scared of sharks to get into deep water but I am envious!

Safe travels! (hugs)

P.S. Thanks for giving your support on the weekly recap. Truly appreciated. 🙂

I’m working on the “recap” part. It’s a bit lengthy. 😬

LOL no worries, i suck at recaps too. You'll get the hang of it as you keep posting them.

What a wonderful adventure! I'm so glad you're taking us along for the ride. I could almost smell the air and feel the wind in my hair. And, oh, what I'd give for fresh papayas! When we were in Central and South America we had one almost every day. Happy travels to you both!

Yum, they're delicious! Were you living there or traveling?
Thanks Katrina.

So delicious. :) We spent two months in Nicaragua, two weeks in Costa Rica rainforest (wish that would've been longer), and two months in Ecuador. Amazing experience!

Wow, sounds like the trip of a lifetime! I hope one day I get to visit central and south America on long term trips like you have done. You must have experienced so much...

Pft, can't get I of the stories and pictures of this island!

I really was shocked by the number of different mangos you can find on one island. I mean: there I was thinking that the one mango I buy at the supermarket is the mango - but there are SO MANY MORE KINDS! Makes me aware how much we're influenced by economic and trade contracts... Haha.

(Also: makes me aware how much more I need to travel ;-))

Yeah it's pretty wild when you think about it... I also wonder if this is the case for other fruit, vegetables and what not

Yes, it is. My supermarket now starts to experiment with so-called new fruit, which is just fruit that has never been selected, and the things I've seen already! Some fruits seem to come straight out of a dinosaur egg!

Haha yes! I only eat those ones if I see someone eating it first :)
I'm such a sheep!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78