Impressions of H O N G K O N G - a journey, through my lens

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

As a continuation of a previous post where I brought some of you on a journey through the old remaining villages of Hong Kong (HONG KONG - through my lens), I am creating yet another visual adventure series (!) to give you an impression of the great variety of landscapes and experiences Hong Kong has to offer. I hope this collection of photos awakens memories/emotions of former travels you may have had in Asia or other, or simply gives you the desire to get out there and discover more of what the Earth has to offer.

HK Collage.jpg

blog-break.png

Hello HK.jpg

Hong Kong's iconic double-decker tramway (香港電車), affectionately called the "Ding Ding" by locals and expats, has been operating for over 110 years! It is a great scenic and eco-friendly way to see parts of HK's main island, and very cheap to top it off. By far my favourite way to get to work (if you're not in too much of a hurry).



Bell.jpg

Golden bells displaying people's wishes and prayers at Wong Tai Sin Temple. Devout worshipers come here to pay their respects (especially during major festivals), or to reflect on their sins. Fortune-telling is also a very popular activity here, particularly through a practice known as Kau Cim, where wooden sticks inscribed with oracles are shaken in a bamboo cup (more on that in future posts).



Bamboo.jpg

Bamboo writings seen on my walk through one of the many forest trails found on the upper parts of HK island. I have always been very curious to know what the messages say. Chinese friends, if you find the time, I would be most grateful :)



Boots.jpg

View of Happy Valley and Causeway Bay districts from way high up on a rock. Ready for the big jump?



Temples.jpg

Light shining through the entrance of a temple revealing the delicate silhouette of an incense burner, or censer. In Buddhism, burning incense serves as an offering to Buddha and other various deities. It is also an important ritual act that is believed to clear the air of evil spirits.



JunkBoat1_edited.jpg

Probably one of Hong Kong's most iconic and deeply cherished symbol - the Junk boat, also known as a Sampan (old traditional fishing boats). The sight of this venerable vessel slowly navigating through the harbour with its flashy red sails set against the backdrop of an ultra modern skyline is always a pleasure to observe. I must have hundreds of photos of these! This one is the "Aqua Luna" Sampan, now used for tourism purposes.



CrazyHorse.jpg

Statue of a very surprised horse guarding the grounds of a seaside temple.



TeaTime.jpg

Afternoon Tea or High Tea (I can never remember the difference) - a tradition brought over by the British which remains quite popular in Hong Kong.



Leaf.jpg

A young vine making its way up a tree trunk, not too far away from a few remaining wild(-ish) macaques swinging on trees nearby. Out of the total 1,092 km² of Hong Kong land, three-quarters is countryside, which makes it an ideal place for trekking and enjoying nature walks.



Hong Kong.jpg

One of the photos which I feel represents Hong Kong best: a blend of nature (the palm tree), mixed with modernity (sky-scraper) and heritage (church).



Stream1.jpg

And last but not least, a photo of me happy to have made it to our final hiking destination, where a clear water stream invites us to jump and cool off.

blog-break.png

All photos in this post were taken with my CANON EOS 500D and Samsung Galaxy S4.

Please don't hesitate to leave comments, share ideas, upvote/resteem. I have lived/worked in multiple Asian countries for over 13 years and enjoy meeting other expats and locals, as well as tourists.

To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Pashupatinath Temple

HONG KONG - through my lens

Bhaktapur lady

Autumn in Burgundy

Map Location: !steemitworldmap 22.4437014 lat 114.0073853 long HONG KONG D3SCR


“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

Sort:  

Must have been an awesome journey ... Nice pics.

That's a really nice opening image to start this series, good luck!

You captured this exciting town just the way how I experienced it myself. Simply amazing!

Hey hey @mammasitta. Why have I not been following you all this time?! Just checked your last Taipei post. Love your impressions of the city through your photography. Lots of positive and vibrant energy. Will be on the lookout for your future posts.
Glad you enjoyed my little tour of HK. Stay tuned for more :)

ScooOooOoooOre!!! Thanks kidd :) me so happy, me so happy

:))))))

NO PROBLEM!

Amazing photos! You've really sparked my interest in going there, thanks for posting 😊

Hongkong is really beautiful ! Beautiful photos my friend !!

Found you (as you found me) on travel digest. Haven't checked your stuff for a while, good to see you again! Great post - safe travels.

Yes! Travel Digest reconnects :)

Looks like an awesome trip.
I've always wanted to see one of those Junk Ships up close. lucky you.
How were those pastries during tea time?

Deeeelicious, I inhaled them!
Thanks for the comment and upvote :)

A very comprehensive tour of Hong Kong. I always forget about the British Influence in Hong Kong. The afternoon tea is a nice reminder.

Thanks for the comment and booster @eroche. Much appreciated!
Get ready for more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38