Unisphere

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Unisphere was the centerpiece of the 1964/65 World's Fair in New York City. To this day, it is a lasting icon of that event. It stands 43 m high and is 37 m in diameter. It sits in Flushing Meadows/Corona Park in Queens. I remember seeing it as a child during a car ride. It left a lasting impression on me. Oddly, as a child I recognized it from a 1965 episode of the Flintstones called "Time Machine".

Decades later, I found myself at LaGuardia Airport with my family and two hours to kill. A short Uber ride later and we were standing in front of the Unisphere in the exact location where Fred and Wilma had been more than 50 years earlier -- Awesome! We did not have much time, but we made the most of it. We got all the important shots. Here they are.


The Three-Person Jump Shot:
Unisphere1 - 3 person jump.jpg


The One-Person Jump Shot:
Unisphere2 - 1 person jump.jpg


Relaxing in front of the Unisphere when an anonymous photo-bombing retired couple spoils the perfect shot for selfie:
Unisphere3 - relaxing.jpg


And finally ...

The World On Your Shoulders:
Unisphere4 - WORLD.jpg


Enjoy

Sort:  

SURLY NEVER WATCH BEFORE THIS >

Haha perfect photo :)

Nice post ,very good im like you post ,amazing

☑️
Hello friends, The projects that I share as open source can help you or the people you want to help.
best regards greetings☑️

All of your photographs are really worth-seeing,an outstanding photography. happy new year @opaulo
I would like to share my own photography with you https://steemit.com/photography/@irshadhussain/a-visit-to-the-hill-side-and-my-photography

The final picture is so epic, haha. Needs to be photoshopped as a movie poster 👊

very nice photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52