The Summer Palace

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

You know the way some people are really photogenic

441cameradownload441f6266.jpg

(LOL, I said some people ... I didn't say me!).

They always look good anytime you snap a pic of them.

You don't have to pose them to get an interesting angle, they look good from every angle

Well there are buildings like that too!

Optimized-488cameradownload488d8043.jpg

It's almost impossible to not get a really good looking shot. No matter the distance, no matter the angle.

439cameradownload4392be35.jpg

For me, The Summer Palace in Beijing is one of those buildings. I'm a very mundane photographer - but even I ended up with spectacularly beautiful photos of the Palace.

440cameradownload440a02ab.jpg

Actually, The Summer Palace

refers to the whole park and complex of palaces, lakes, temples, and halls.

Summer Palace
Simplified Chinese
颐和园
Traditional Chinese
頤和園
Literal meaning
"Garden of Preserving Harmony" (isn't that beautiful?)

Summer_Palace_18885edc6.jpg
Pictorial plan of the Summer Palace, c. 1888 - source: wikipedia.org

So, I am taking a liberty to refer to just the main residence as "The Summer Palace" with its exquisite photogenic personality.

459cameradownload4593316a.jpg

"The Summer Palace (Chinese: 頤和園; pinyin: Yíhéyuán), is a vast ensemble of lakes, gardens and palaces in Beijing, China. It serves as a popular tourist destination and recreational park. Mainly dominated by Longevity Hill (万寿山; 萬壽山; Wànshòu Shān) and Kunming Lake (昆明湖; Kūnmíng Hú), it covers an expanse of 2.9 square kilometres (1.1 sq mi), three-quarters of which is water" - wikipedia.org

461cameradownload459c2338.jpg

"Longevity Hill is about 60 metres (200 feet) high and has many buildings positioned in sequence. The front hill is rich with splendid halls and pavilions, while the back hill, in sharp contrast, is quiet with natural beauty. The central Kunming Lake, covering 2.2 square kilometres (540 acres), was entirely man-made and the excavated soil was used to build Longevity Hill." - wikipedia.org

Optimized-487cameradownload487d8f56.jpg

Optimized-489cameradownload4891c4c4.jpg

Optimized-492cameradownload49211795.jpg

Optimized-495cameradownload49566c68.jpg

Optimized-49cameradownload49626a0f.jpg

Optimized-501cameradownload5016a06b.jpg

Optimized-502cameradownload5023ed44.jpg

Optimized-485cameradownload4850d5ec.jpg

all photos courtesy of @twiceuponatime unless otherwise indicatated

Also see: Seventeen-arch Bridge (Shiqi Kong Qiao) in the Summer Palace park
Bridge of Sighs: https://steemit.com/travel/@onceuponatime/bridge-of-sighs

And: Scratch That Off My Bucket List! (The Great Wall) https://steemit.com/photography/@onceuponatime/scratch-that-off-my-bucket-list

Sort:  

I love when you take us travelling and share information about what is interesting for you wherever you end up going. It has a natural tendency to tickle my brain and curiosity, what a treat it is every time!

Thanks for sharing the fruit of your photogenic venture with us, namaste :)

Your brain is ticklish? Thank goodness mine is enclosed in a hard case.

@onceuponatime photogenic eh?

(LOL, I said some people ... I didn't say me!).

but the intro is insinuating :P

In this case, vanity is in the eye of the beholder (ie. you, lol).

@onceuponatime me? beholding what ? hahhaha
vanity eh .. am not sure its the word but okay hahahaha
how's anarchapulco? beery?

Anarchapulco is still a week away. Now you're getting ahead of yourself :-)

You need to: Keep Calm and Steem On!

@onceuponatime commenting on your nested reply - lol I can't keep calm when I'm Steemiting it's not very easy ahahahaha
I thought it was this week wahahahaha
anyway, have fun!

So photogenic palace! I love the Chinese palaces, they are full of vivid colors ^_^ I never was in China, so thanks for share these nice photos!

I hope that you get a chance to visit China. It has a very long history of artistic achievement. You would have much of interest to see.

I really hope it! Ok, I have a very long list of places that I have to visit, but I'm not too old to visit all that places in the future :P

This is very cool. I saw a man walking on water, but it was so cold that the water was frozen​?

Yes, it's winter. He's walking on ice.

You have made great photos and that palace looks very nice!

Very photogenic in deed, kinda pulls the eyes to the pain on the tree, hehe :)

Nice post, thanks for sharing :)

It's Winter. I'm sure that the trees are quite happy in Summer.

I'm sure they are :)

I was just picking on ya...

Steem On my friend :)

Geez, I thought you knew how sensitive I was!

This is why I enjoy Steemit so much. Out of nowhere and quite randomly, I get to go on a short trip to China to see things I didn't know existed. Thanks. Nice photos too.

Maybe there's something else that you don't know exists. Isn't that exciting!!!

Yes! I think?

I get you. Some of the pagodas in the temples I've seen are like that too.
See them partially and in full, under sunlight or shadow, it still have a good to look at kind of feeling.

Happy day . I hope that you have Enjoy. I love this place feel quietly. Post terrific. Nice pictures

I am also happy for you. And I wish you a visit to Egypt. Good day my brother I do not know what time you have. I currently 9am

It is 11:30pm here. I will go to bed soon.

sweet dreams

Great post! Beautiful photo. It was very interesting. Thank you @onceuponatime . resteem

nices and interesting pictures.

It's such a photogenic building that it is almost impossible to not get nice photos. Point and shoot lol

This place is magnificent! Excellent post.. I just saw it!

Since you are one of those very photogenic people who looks good from any angle - you would know about magnificent buildings (ie. as you said to me before "it takes one to know one") :-)

As long as you include yourself in the equation... 😉 thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25