Travel with me: TRIP TO HELSINKI, part 1

in #photography6 years ago (edited)



I usually visit Finland’s capital a couple of times a year. Sometimes I go on a business trip for my company, sometimes to visit one or several friends of mine who live there, and once I even went there to participate in a Massive Multiplayer Mobile Game Ingress” created by Niantic Labs (back then a department at Google) that was a precursor to Pokémon Go. This time I’m in town for my friend’s birthday party, catching up with a couple of our common friends who will be there at the party, and also hopefully meeting a member of ETHLend’s team tomorrow for coffee.

Day 1. Departure from Stockholm


My trip began on Friday afternoon, when I boarded one of Viking Line’s ferry boats, christened Gabriella.


You will probably laugh, but the company’s other boats bear names of Mariella, Cinderella, Rosella, Mariella, and Amorella. Is it just me or is there a pattern?!

I mostly stayed in my cabin, working on an assignment for the MOOC in Academic Writing in English that I’m currently taking from Lund University via coursera.org. When I was done peer-reviewing my coursemates’ assignments, I went to the boat’s club to listen to live music on stage and enjoy a piña colada:


I know it isn’t supposed to be pink. This strange hue of the drink is due to the club’s lighting.

Day 2. Arrival in Helsinki


I woke up this morning, took a shower (my cabin has its own small bathroom) and went to the boat’s buffet restaurant to grab a breakfast. It was a clear and sunny morning, so I could enjoy a view of a seascape, while appreciating the hearty meal:


Check out the pile of freshly baked Karelian pies on my plate. They taste so good with a bit of butter melted on top!


It is Saturday, so I guess I’ll have some pancakes with jam too!

Then it was time to disembark and step onto the Finnish soil. It is sunny and chilly in Helsinki today – a perfect weather for a walk in the city centre and for snapping some shots!


The ferry boat that brought me to Helsinki

Did you know that Helsinki has two Cathedrals? One is Orthodox and another one is Protestant (Lutheran). This fact reflects the country’s historical past of being part of Sweden and part of the Russian Empire in different time periods. I decided to walk past the both cathedrals on my way from the ferry terminal to take the photos:


The Christian Orthodox Cathedral with its characteristic onion-shaped golden domes


The Protestant Cathedral in all its strict Lutheran beauty

And now I’m sitting at the Helsinki University Library, studying another module for my online course and also composing this blog post. Soon I’ll be heading to my friend’s place in the beautiful outskirts of the capital to help her prepare for the party tonight.

To be continued…


All photos in this post were taken with my smartphone camera, Nexus 5



Sort:  

Did you know that Helsinki has two Cathedrals? One is Orthodox and another one is Protestant (Lutheran). This fact reflects the country’s historical past of being part of Sweden and part of the Russian Empire in different time periods. I decided to walk past the both cathedrals on my way from the ferry terminal to take the photos:

I had no idea of any of this, or the history part man.

You got no shots of your sea voyage dude!

LOL

Keep me posted when you have cool shots of your travels and places I can look at, you know I want to learn and see them.

Ty for dropping these links for me and remembering.

Your work is some of the best. Thanks, I enjoy the great effort you put in for us.!

Great trip! been thinking to go to Viking Line too. Upvoted & Followed

Thank you! Yes, it is a great way of having a “micro-vacation” by taking a cruise with Viking Line.

I know you must be exhausted but you put together a lovely post
@oleg326756. I like the way your post feels color coded like sky blue. That makes a beautiful touch. That "ferry boat" looks like a cruise ship to me. I'm glad to see you are enjoying life and studying at the same time. I wish you the best in Helsinki.

Nice to read about your trip to Helsinki, I have never been there so am glad to see the all cool pictures- the architecture of both cathedrals looks majestic. Your food pics were great especially the pancakes :) Looking forward to part 2

I hope you have loads of fun over there <3 The photos look awesome, I particularly like the first Cathedral. I'd say you were lucky - you got the perfect blue sky, eh?

Indeed, I got lucky with the clear sky. It only lasted a few hours. And now the sky is turning milky white.

I'm having fun already! My friend and I are baking pizzas (from scratch) for the guests who will be arriving soon. We're reminiscing about “good old times”. We've known each other for twelve years, since when we both were university students in Lund.

Beautiful! Enjoy your visit and thanks for taking us along :D

Thank you, Tamara! Stay tuned for part 2. ;)

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you make a new blog post that you want me to resteem go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0/comments

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 11:32:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 114.35/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43