Travel with me: arrived in Japan and first day in Osaka

in #photography7 years ago

As you know, my travel plans were somewhat altered when my ferry from Busan to Fukuoka got cancelled the other day. Instead, yesterday I flew from Busan directly to Osaka.

From first minutes it felt great to be in Japan again!! Boy, how I missed this country!

My trip from the airport was long and tiring. In the subway I went in the wrong direction twice – which probably shows how dead my brain was at that time. Luckily, I realised my mistake quickly enough in both cases. Still, it took me two hours to reach my AirBnB hotel in central Osaka.

The friendly hotel manager could see it all written on my face, because the first thing he did was to offer me an ice-cream. God bless his heart!!

Me chewing happily on a green-tea ice-cream after a long and exhausting journey

My current accommodation is pretty cool: I can see the historical Osaka Castle from my window! It's just across the river from our hotel:

The Castle in daylight…

…and at night.

I like my little apartment: it has a private bathroom and all other necessities and appliances that I need. The manager and other guests are all very friendly. Tonight we are having a pizza party for one girl who's leaving tomorrow. And we're planning on going out together for dinner sometimes this week:

I was chatting with the manager and a group of guests from Taiwan and Hong Kong this afternoon, telling them about Steemit (once again, a bunch of my Steemit cards was handed out), which led to us talking about Bitcoin and other crypto. It generated interest and lots of questions, as these topics usually do. Who knows, maybe one of them is even reading this post right now. :)

But I'm getting ahead of myself. Here's what I've done so far on my first day in Osaka:

I woke up late (that's after 9 am local time), having enjoyed a long and restful sleep. I took stroll to the metro station and circled a few cafes and restaurants, until I settled on one that I knew from my previous stay in Japan. It serves excellent coffee, so rich in flavour, and a delicious sandwich with ham and sausage.

After that I went to a nearby mall and did some shopping for new clothes that I needed. I always have trouble buying pants in Sweden – I usually need to bring them to a tailor to shorten them for an extra fee. While the normal length of pants sold in Japan is just perfect for me!

Me trying a new Star Wars cap in front of mirror. In the end I settled on a blue one.

Afterwards I was going to walk in the Imperial park across the river and snap pictures of the castle. But as the sun began glaring in earnest and the air was rapidly heating up, I decided to take it easy and go exploring in the late afternoon, after the heat has somewhat receded.

So I went back to the hotel and enjoyed my modest lunch (I wasn't that hungry yet after the late breakfast):

That's when I met the other guests, talked about Steemit and crypto, got invited to the pizza party tonight, and did my laundry in a coin-operated laundromat tonight. Now I'm just chilling in my room, writing up this post and working on the finishing touches of the interview with @scrooger that's going up later today. It's going to be epic, don't miss it! ;)



Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oleg326756 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Ice cream, shopping, new friends, and end the day with laundry and post? Not to shabby of a day at all. Can't wait to see what kind of pizza is popular in Japan :)

Jealous! I've been trying to get to Japan for years. I even majored in Japanese Culture-Archaeology. Hoping to get there soon! But I've very much interested in following your blog! :) Got yourself a new follower! Can't wait to see more of your journey.

Thank you so much for your feedback! It truly made my day. :) And welcome as a new follower! ;)

You are in japan! Would you like to participate in my challenge? Check the top of the promoted page :)

Yes, I was actually thinking about participating! Just need to make that sign and go take a selfie! :) Maybe with the Osaka Business District in the background? Or Osaka Castle?

I would love to go to Japan sometime in the future, love their culture and especially their castles and samurai history.
Have a nice trip :)

Thank you! It would be so cool if SteemFest happened in Japan one day and all of us gathered there! :D

Hug for me the Miyazaki's land! :)

I will! I actually visited Studio Ghibli’s Museum in Mitaka two years ago. Magical!!

Wow, you're lucky!)

Very jealous of your trip! my dream is to visit Japan too :)
Looking forward to future posts!

Dreams do come true! Just keep believing in it and working towards it, then one day you'll find yourself in Japan! ;)

With how easy you been making friends I hope you got enough cards with you. Enjoy Japan it looks like a fun place to visit.

Haha, I was just thinking earlier today that I should've brought more cards with me! Or I'll have to simply stop making new friends and talking to strangers. :D

Thank you, I'm enjoying it so far!

Good day, Looking forward to your Japan travel updates...I am traveling vicariously with you. Thanks for sharing. I upvoted this post and I am already following you. Let's enjoy this great adventure!!!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34