Let's Explore: Sauder Village!

P1080531.JPG

Disclaimer!


Let me start right off by saying I am not sponsored by, nor connected in any way with Sauder Village. Rather, I am simply just a fan of Sauder Village! What follows is my thoughts from a trip there yesterday. For further information, you can check it out here on the official site.


What It Isn't

Sauder Village is a historical tourist attraction - that's not "touristy". Yes it is a tourist destination that students via their school as well as the public flock to every day, yet its not like "those" kind of historic places that are overpriced and dull and boring. Sauder Village is approachable yet alive and vibrant with activity.


What It Is

To me, Sauder is a living village at about the turn of the century. For reference maybe think "The Waltons". It starts with the boyhood workshop of Ernie Sauder, who would go on to found the huge Sauder furniture business. After his success, Sauder Village was the brainchild of Ernie who founded and curated it.
Basically the village incorporates all the shops and sights that one would experience in an early 20th century town.

Not Boring

One way Sauder Village differentiates itself from other historical tourist traps is in the hosts. In each shop you are warmly greeted by a person that is friendly and very knowledgeable about what they are talking about. In other places, the hosts basically regurgitate a memorized dialog...not at Sauder. No here, the hosts are not just boring talking-faces that don't know anything; these guys are artisans! They are DOING while they talk to you. The blacksmith is pounding hot metal into usable stuff that can be purchased. The cooper is making nice baskets, and talking with a visitor about how he can rebuild the visitors broken antique butter churn! The glass worker is making the most intense marbles you ever saw! Think of fractals inside of marbles!

Authentic Yet Convenient

Although Sauder Village is quite popular, it has a small town friendliness. The shops are numberous that you never feel like you are being pressed or prodded by other guests. You always have a front row seat to the action. The host talk to YOU not to a huge group. The hosts encourage dialog and questions.
In addition, parking is close and the entire place including the restrooms are spotless.




They have a model general store inside the real general store!



You never know who you are going to see walking around...

P1080603.JPG



Every shop is surrounded by awesome flowers (a photographers dream!!)

P1080605.JPG

If you are ever near Archbold, Ohio do your self a favor and stop by Sauder Village. Adult tickets are only $17. They also have outstanding food at their restaurant aptly name The Barn lol.

I wanted to include this on the #beautifulsunday tag hosted by my buddy @ace108. It was a lovely Sunday at the village for my daughter and I. I think this is my fourth time going there and I enjoy it every time. Just the food alone is worth the trip!!

P1080545.JPG

Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube Main channel
YouTube Photography
YouTube ASMR/Mukbang
Twenty20

Sort:  

This looks like a great place to spend some time... Next time I'm in Ohio!

Have you ever been to Lehman's country store? That's what this reminds me of a bit, only it sounds even more extensive.

There was also a great "history" town in New England called Sturbridge Village, if I remember rightly. Educational, interesting, a wonderful place for a family outing...

😄😇😄

@creatr

I never was at Lehmans. I looked it up online and it looks like a place I would love. I wish we had one nearby!

Oh my goodness! I have an aunt and uncle in Archbold! My cousins grew up working there and at the Dough Box! It's such a cool place. :)

Oh that is so cool! Small world! Oh yeah Ive been to the Doughbox YUM

Sound like and interesting place. I would love to see the blacksmith and glass worker do their craft. You mentioned the food is good. Well that is even better.

Yeah I was talking to the blacksmith for a long time.
This is the glass worker.

Interesting village with gorgeous flowers! 😊

Yes I got a good supply of flower photos to share!

Such a good, well layed out and constructed post. very good read but also educational for me who is learning to write blogs myself.

Check out my holiday blog here.

This looks like a great spot. I love old fashioned villages they are so welcoming and homey feeling. Thanks for sharing, I will have to check out Sauder Village if I am ever in the area.

Interesting visit and like in between, what?
Why did the chicken cross the road?

Looks like a wonderful place to explore and get fully absorbed into...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62