Where did all the lizards go?

in #photography7 years ago

I have seen very few viviparous lizards (Zootoca vivipara) this year in the local peat bog, where they used to roam in large numbers. I also haven't seen any tree frogs this year yet. Not good.

Here are two older photos I made of this species of lizard:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f4, 1/100s

They are rather small, maybe about 8cm (3.2") in length, but they can look quite majestic:


Olympus XZ-1, 28mm, ISO200, f8, 1/100s

Note the focal length on that second photo; if you move slowly, you can get quite close to them (if you can find any, that is).

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

oooooh the lizard in the first photo is... looking... at.... me...... :)

Both terrific shots. I used to see them in Scotland but there was only one place where I could find them regularly.

excellent shots! Here we have many Podarcis muralis (the common wall lizard), but I've never seen a Zootoca vivipara, beautiful shades of colors!

Thanks! Have you ever drawn one of these?

yessssss! ^_^

To bad about the dropping number of these lizards and frogs. Can you take a guess what is the cause?

The peat bog here has been far too dry in summer for the last few years, that could be it.

That's ok, as long it's only nature's doing.

It is probably mainly the adjacent agriculture drawing away the water.

Looks scary but captured beautifully!

You caught the lizards scales perfectly, now I want to draw this lizard....lolol

Go on then!

I will use this photo with your permission .... Okay? Now I have my 3 pieces to work on for this coming month of September.

I normally don't fancy lizards, but these are amazing and quite beautiful! Very snake-skin (scales?) like too...

Don't have any piece of though on why they moved ? There is sometimes general studies calling people to share when some being desapear, like here in france I receiv mails from a studie on Lucioles (light insects) because it is an indice of biodiversity, and they try to know why they desapear from that or that places...

Such beautiful pictures... Really great shots !
............
@permatek - My last post : Around the World : Ljubljana

In the beginning I was thinking it does a picture of a snake judging from a small thumbnail image. Only upon closer inspection I realized this is a lizard. And if they back and big numbers there's no wonder that all the frogs have disappeared, poor animals :-) and by the way are they so brave or so prone to pose that you have managed to get so close with a 28mm lens to it?

Moving very slowly, like T'ai Chi in slow motion, is the trick.

BTW these beasties don't hunt the frogs here, as these lizard are only 8cm (3.2") long 8-).

Mhmmm maybe then there is another predator who is hunting lizards and likes frogs too. Lizard concentration might have attracted that other predator too? Would love to see that movement :)

Nice little lizard from fairytale:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42