Water birds in the snow

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

The birds in the park across from my house looked a little miffed by the second bout of snow we had here in The Netherlands.

It must have seemed to them as if somebody had hidden all the food:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f4, 1/160s

Most came together on the last open water:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 65mm, ISO160, f5.6, 1/125s

Others just stood around, as if in awe:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/50s

Even the usually very loud seagulls were quiet and subdued:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/250s

This female mallard still has snow on her beak from searching for food:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 220mm, ISO200, f4, 1/320s

Overall I think they don't like snow nearly as much as I do! Fortunately for them, the snow is already melting.

I find photographing animals in the snow quite difficult, especially the lighting, contrast, and the white balance. I hope I have made it look easy 8-).

Sort:  

@ocrdu eten :D
hahaha mag niet heh?
Well, I love these pictures. We didn't get that much snow here. Just a bit and it thawed pretty fast.
But they got the skating rink in Schuytgraaf to open for a day and many went to skate.

I guess those ducks don't know how to skate? :)
They sure look cute specially the female one she was looking at you like "quack! what do you want?" hih hi

I like it when my models look into the lens 8-).

Beautiful pictures ocrdu!

Thank you!

And thanks for the resteem!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for posting @ocrdu. Resteemed by @koskl or one might have missed seeing these lovely photographs....yes in answer to your query...you made it look easy.

Yes, you always make it look easy! Their colors are so vivid, very cool

Mallards are a beautiful species. I used to keep them as pets when I was much younger.

They sure look pretty! You didn't eat them then? 8-P I never realised you could keep them as pets.

Yes, they made good pets. We just kept their wing feathers clipped so they wouldn't fly away. We eventually released them in a pond with hundreds of other Mallards.

I see the cute little curl ;)

Me too - I noticed right away!

If the photo is working as intended, it was the first thing you looked at. I have been steering your eyes, muwhahahahah!

You are too good, so clever ;p

Meh. Anyone can do that, just observe yourself looking at paintings and photos, and then apply what you noticed.

And humble, too ;D

Humble? Only occasionally. 8-P

I love the birds in the picture.

very nice pictures !!!
upvoted and followed ;)

Catch them! 😄😄😄

We don't hunt ducks in city parks! 8-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40