📷🤔 Wall as a Collection-of-Things, or not? Amazing Insights!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Dear readers,

Having shown you two Things on two Walls over the past two days, I realised I was not on the path towards fully understanding wall, and therefore could not transfer any fresh thought on the concept wall to you. I was failing both as a philosopher and as an artist.

The things I had noticed earlier were not even part of wall; they were on or in a wall, and so did not make up wall per se.

Wall as an object, and as a concept, went largely unnoticed.

I did not feel I had fully reached Proof of Wall. The photos did show some of the actual constituent things of wall, but apart from the ever present distraction-of-other-things, I also felt I was focussing too much on analysis, where synthesis, the painstakingly fleshing out of the concept wall by aggregating the things that make up wall, as a mental exercise, and then working towards a deeper understanding of the idea of "wall", could well be the best way to gain at least some knowledge of wall.

So I decided it might be fruitful to collect the things that make up a wall in my mind and move from analysis to synthesis, by taking a more generalised, or even, dare I say it, holistic approach.

One might even describe it as getting the bricks into place to gain access to the inner wall.

Here is the photo I took for illustrating this. It shows various things, certainly, but somehow, the first thought that comes to mind when seeing this is: "wall".

The synthesis is almost instantaneous; the individual parts, however diverse, and of diverse origin, they may be, are seen later, if at all, as it were:

Even though the wall that was photographed in the making of this photo predates the Dutch artistic movement called De Stijl by centuries, there are clearly aspects here that hint forward to, nay, predict the later work of Piet Mondriaan himself.

This unexpected insight gives me confidence I am on the right artistic track with my new-found synthetic framework. The potential application landscape supported by this framework is yet to be explored, but the possibilities for new knowledge seem endless.

And now, over to you. How do you feel about wall? What part does wall play in your lives? Do you still consciously observe wall and the things therein, or has wall become a rarely noticed feature in your surroundings that is mostly ignored until you run into one?

Thank you for your attention.

Sort:  

Such deep!

But what are your views on Windows?

Are they an integral part of wall or merely a local absence of wall allowing a view of the wider landscape beyond? And as such, do they provide any extra insight into the concept "wall" or are they merely see-through and void?


Buy a Real Comment! Comment: 10 STEEM. Defence in debates, max. 5 comments: 40 STEEM. No refunds.

There have been many versions of windows over the years. I feel that they have become increasingly opaque, to the point of preventing a clear view on what is going on. Without transparency, a window is just another brick in the wall.

This is deep, I don't really understand it. It's like I am standing outside a house looking in through the wall. I know, I know. That sounds crazy but hear me out. It's like the wall has a hole in it thatis not a hole!?!

Like it's part of the wall and yet not the wall. My head, is bursting with these crazy thoughts.

I must go

You may have encountered a wall/no wall superposition; the object is in both states at the same time, until you observe it more closely, when it will collapse into one of the two states. One of these states provides a so-called window on what goes on on the other side, giving the impression of a hole.

The effect can be observed from both sides of the wall and is better known as Schrödingers collapsing wall.

Oh dear. Oh dear. @ocrdu. After such a wonderful exposition on wall it is with heavy heart that I must point out that this is, in fact, not wall but house.

Or, to be more precise, you have gone beyond the concept of wallness and into the realms of house. Admittedly you have not fully reached proof of house, but I do feel that since you are open to the endless possibilities for new knowledge, you might want to ponder more on your current understanding of the idea of "wall".

philosophical friday...

It is surprisingly hard to write waffling bullshit when it is 35oC 8-).

Oh, I wonder then what would you write about if it is raining all week ;o)

I think I could write a better class of nonsense at lower temperatures 8-).

I have a pesky fifth wall that will put itself above others. I mean, quite honestly, I'm not sure if it is just reckless, keeping itself up there on top of walls and windows, precariously balanced, or if it finds itself superior in all ways, rising above the other walls.

Often I ignore it, but everytime I lie in bed or stretch out on the sofa, there it is, above me, showing off, holding lamps straight down on me, as if it might drop them (yet never does).

I'd say this fifth wall is a bit up itself, but if I look straight ahead or down, I can just ignore it.

I feel like I need a lot of weed to fully comprehend this.

There is no comprehending my finer writings, as I fully intend them to be waffling bullshit, inspired by the Trending Page. No amount of weed, or any other substance, will help.

You gave me a completely different vision of the wall than I had thought of it so far. From today I will meditate from the historical as well as artistic side going past buildings and their walls.

My vision of the wall is more philosophical: I compared it to people to whom I try to explain something, help, and they reflect words like a wall.

But of what things is wall in that sense composed? Can it be synthesised? Is there even a wall in the holistic sense, a wall ipso facto?

Is there reflection, I wonder, or are you speaking into a void without any wallish characteristics? Ceci n'est pas un mur, I don't think. Haha.

Why do I have to waste time talking to the wall?
The wall always knows its own.

I hope that you now understand my thoughts about the wall ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I thing you can improve photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44