This Tree Supported by Ivy

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Ivy, the plant, that is, not Ivy, the Steemian. She may have green fingers, but she is too small to support trees.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 95mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/250s

A bit closer in, to show how big and strong ivy can become:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 220mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/400s

To give some impression of how big ivy can become when left alone: this is a good-sized oak tree, about 120cm (4') in diameter. The smaller trunk right next to it is ivy:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 45mm, ISO160, f5.6, 1/100s

Ivy has a very nice, strong, and fine-grained wood, but it is hard to find pieces large enough to work with. Still, after the storm we had in The Netherlands I managed to find a few, and I am now carving a staff from one of them.

I already made a (rather smaller) cane for my father out of a single piece of ivy wood:

Not something for those who like straight lines, but I really like the result; it has a certain elegance.

My father is now also supported by ivy.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

those tree are beautiful and that walking stick makes me want to aquire a limp!

Acquiring an affectation of walking with a cane is much less painful. A staff would require a Merlin complex; I'm already working on a white beard.

That affection is already there haha
A white beard is nearly guaranteed if your doing it right :-)

That is one cool cane. I didn't know Icy actually grew like that

It does take a few decades.

wow.the biggest tree
what is the name of the tree ?

in latin quercus sp ?

Yes, Latin, possibly greek hybrid.
Quercus is the Oak trees Genus

oh yeah... thanks for it
if you wish, come visit my account guys, hehhee

wow the biggest tree
what is the name of the tree?

It's still an oak tree.

ooh oke
thanks for your replies
if you wish, come visit my account guys, hehhee

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 13 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

if you wish, please visit my account
@mdarsaimi
thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33