The Walls are Bugged

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This is a picturesque part of an old farm's wall. The orange bit between the beams is wattle and daub, basically loam clay on wicker:

As you can see, this photo was taken in a period with litle insect activity. I did notice some small holes in the wall though, probably the work of solitary bees or wasps as witnessed by the discarded skins I found:

When I walked past this wall the other day, I noticed the insects had been active here again and had left some very strange constructions:

I don't know if this is just the result of their digging, or if there is a purpose to these appendages hanging from the wall; I just know it looked weird and may evoke even weirder associations in those of you with a more chequered past.

Some more detailed photos:

Eventually, the walls will have been perforated beyond what they can take, and bits will start to fall off, exposing the wicker base:

Fortunately, there's plenty of loam clay almost everywhere in my region of The Netherlands to dig up and apply on the walls, so the cycle can start again.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Bugs have to live someplace too.

I thought they had all moved to Steemit.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Oooo. Those photgraphs give me the creeps @ocrdu, apart from the top one which I enjoyed! 😁

I'm really not very keen on insects!

How about big spiders? I have some photos of those as well.

Kind of you to offer. But no thanks @ocrud! 😁

Butterflies are insects too, how do you feel about them then?

Moving in the right direction @ocrdu. They're OK but I'm not keen on moths. 😂

These are moths too:

Still feeling the same?

Hmmm. yes I think so @ocrdu. They are a bit furry for my liking.

What I particularly don't like about moths is that they fly at your face in a way that butterflies don't. 😱

You must be very radiant; they never do that to me.

Nice Picture ocrdu ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Much like you promote yourself here? Eff off and go play outside, there's a good boy.

Nice Picture ocrdu ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Much like you promote yourself here? Eff off and go play outside, there's a good boy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65