The hunt goes on

in #photography7 years ago

No matter how hot it is, the dragonflies are out hunting.

I wish they would hunt in the shade more, were the mosquitos are, but you can't have everything, I suppose.

This short and stocky dragonfly I saw the other day is called a broad-bodied chaser (Libellula depressa), platbuik in Dutch, meaning "flatbelly":


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/320s

Don't let its looks fool you: this is a very alert and agile hunter!

A bit later in the day, there were some black-tailed skimmers (Orthetrum cancellatum), gewone oeverlibel in Dutch, sitting around a pool on the lookout for prey:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f8, 1/250s

To my delight, they did manage to kill some mosquitos.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

You nailed the focus on the first one, great job :)

Thank you.

the flat belly is very very cute!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $85.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Like the saying goes- The more you bleed in training the lesser your bleed in battle.

I'll continue upvoting you once my voting power comes back a bit. :D

Thanks. I have the same problem, it's on life support.

I wish there was a better way to watch our voting power, other than steemstats.com. Like a meter in the corner of our screen.

I would like that as well.

Mine too... Drastically dropped

Yeah these dragonflies are great to get rid of mosquitos. I love your camera btw :)

Thanks! I did a bit of friendly hunting myself.

Hey ocrdu , great photo, If you like check my posts too, thanks.

Is there a chance you could capture the killing?! :P

I tried, but they are extremely quick about it and it often happens at a fair distance from where they are sitting. I have a few shots of them eating, but they are gross. They are very sloppy eaters ...

Its beautiful!!I love photography as well.but ur clicks are awesome, buddy
upvoted nd following u.pls follow me back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64